Bellingham-Sumas, WA: Flat and fast. - The Granny Panties Tour - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2015

Bellingham-Sumas, WA: Flat and fast.

Sumas Mountain Lodge 360-988-4483 $82. large queen room w/fridge. Oren's room is much smaller, no fridge, $66. Nicely decorated with antiques. Don't look too closely at the hallway carpet. No wifi.

Even with the short day today, I had a restless night. We left ourselves plenty of wiggle room to return the van, check and load the bikes, etc. We didn't even agree on a breakfast and depart time. Easy day today!

We meandered over to breakfast around 8 AM. Sat and chatted for almost an hour. Finally we decided to get rolling. Jacinto took the van to return. Oren and I putzed around getting the bikes ready. I couldn't find a piece of cord I use to hold my improvised handlebar bag on. But there it was in the bag with my chargers.

Oren had a whole pile of clothing, fabric bags, and blankets to throw away. I did convince him to leave most of the stuff in the room with a 'free' sign on it. The used clothing he refused to leave. I think Oren lives at a certain income level. Plenty of people would be happy to take home his gently used clothing and wash it.

It is 60 degrees and sunny. Forecast looks good the rest of the week. Crossing my fingers on that one. We are just waiting for Jacinto, then we will take off. It looks like a straight shot from the Econo Lodge - up Meridian Dr. to Road 542 (I think).

Ok - I'm blathering. Have a good day - talk to you later!

Back again - no wi-fi at the motel - I'm doing a quick fill in at the El Nopal restaurant where we had dinner.

We decided to take the direct route rather than the ACA route. From our hotel it was straight down Meridian for 15 miles. At first it seemed like a very bad idea. Lots of traffic and stop lights, although all the vehicles were respectful. Traffic thinned out after a mile or so. We saw cherry and strawberry stands. Several pick your own strawberry fields. I think I saw a raspberry field. Lots and lots of what I believe were wild blackberries. Certainly the vegetation is not what we have in Colorado.

Ready to roll. It has been a long time planning, finally we are off!
Heart 1 Comment 0
We had ridden eleven flat, tailwind assisted miles before we had to stop in Lynden at Dickey's BBQ for sustenance. Harpo was not here.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I told the guys I'd like to stick close to them and not get lost. They were both nice and went slower, I'm sure, than they would have. Oren pulled over and wanted to get a drink. We ended up having lunch early in Lynden. Heck, half way there already. We hadn't even gone for enough to be hungry yet. Anyone who tours with us knows I jealously guard my meals and Jacinto always has his eye on them. Today I shared a meal.

It's a cow's life here. Lots and lots of dairies. There's several specialty dairy shops in town. Oren is bemoaning the fact he had ice cream already at Dickey's. However, that wasn't real ice cream, so I think he's allowed another.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We started to get some mountain views, the closer we got to Canada. There were a couple of turns in the road, I wasn't exactly sure which direction was north and Canadian mountains. It would have been nice to get an eye for the ones we were going to be crossing over.

A time or two we got a whiff of barnyard smell. Jacinto says it's the smell of money. Cows. Lots and lots of cows. But they're not the Herfords of home. These are dairy cows. We are right at the source!

In no time at all we were in Sumas. Our motel on the left. I stopped in and asked. We could check in any time. It was 1:30 PM - we went on down to the border (4-5 blocks) and took photos. Back to the motel. Paid. Discussed where to put the bikes. The guys were doubtful about getting them upstairs, but there really wasn't anywhere else as the entry was small and it was also an entry for Bob's Burgers. In the end we carried the bikes up. Rather, the guys carried the bikes and I supervised. I found it to be very easy to get the bikes in the rooms.

These handsome fellows are in front of our hotel, the Sumas Mountain Lodge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a prospector?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here we are. Time to head south!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Getting a long recumbent up the stairs is tricky. I got the best job. Supervisor.
Heart 0 Comment 0
almost there!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Jacinto and Oren planned to go to the grocery and check the town out. I wanted to write the journal and read some on my book. Yes, I did bring it along. I want to see what happens. But for certain if I am not done with it, I'm not hauling it up Rainy/Washington Passes!

Unfortunately the wifi did not work. Not in the room, not downstairs, not using Bob's locked wifi or the public wifi. I pouted and whined. No good. They guys were gone. I ended up ordering a salad and french fries at the restaurant. Just as I went upstairs, here they came back. That was a short trip. Jacinto said he did cross the border, but there was no town on the other side, so he just turned around and came back.

Oren was surprised they didn't have bagels at the grocery. He ended up with Pita pockets to go with his peanut butter. Jacinto bought me a whole half gallon of milk because it was cheaper than two pint bottles.

We discussed routing for tomorrow. ACA goes over a 600 foot climb and circles back around to Hwy 9. Google bicycle maps just puts us right on Hwy 9. I believe we are doing the climb, just to stay in practice and because it's such a short day. ~40 miles. Looks like sunshine and a headwind for tomorrow.

We went to the El Nopal for dinner. I'm using their wifi now, while the guys went for ice cream. Tomorrow we are having a modestly early departure. 8 AM? in deference to the anticipated headwind.

The tentative plan is to have dinner tomorrow evening with CG Bob V. and his wife. Bob has been very helpful with local info on road closures around Sedro-Wooley.

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 25 miles (40 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0