Ashland, OR - Yreka, CA: Genny is not gravitationally enhanced on downhills. That's fancy speak for doesn't weigh much. - The Granny Panties Tour - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2015

Ashland, OR - Yreka, CA: Genny is not gravitationally enhanced on downhills. That's fancy speak for doesn't weigh much.

Relax Inn, 1210 S. Main 530-842-2791 $58.52 Older place. Large rooms. fridge/micro, old TV, medium wi-fi. Great deal for the $$$. Places by the interstate are $100. and up.

Food for thought. Oren bought a second shirt for evenings. Jacinto just bought a second shirt. Does that mean I should also? Is a month of wearing the same shirt every evening too much? Does it matter if I am clean when I put it on? Does it matter if I am clean, but the shirt has not been washed once? Please don't judge too harshly.

I was up and gone by 5:25 AM. Everyone but Jacinto had plans for an early morning to try and beat the heat. The climb was early in the day today, a huge bonus.

I had extra, extra water with me because of the anticipated 106 degree high. I had four water bottles, a 34 oz. bladder, and a can of V-8. I mixed two Spiz bottles out of that water. Needless to say, I had ice! Yesterday I felt bad that I wasn't carrying the extra water and the couple had asked for some on the climb. At the end of the day all were dry except the bladder, which had not been touched. No one asked me for water, but I did carry the full bladder all the way.

I have to say, this is a fantastic route. Oh, I've said that before? It seems picky, but today was the most lackluster day we have had scenery wise. Mt. Shasta was very nice, when we could see it. The first part of the ride, the climb had green and trees. We certainly could tell California is in a drought. Dry and brown everywhere. Everywhere. Made me thirsty just looking at it. Maybe that's why I finished all of that water!

I hadn't gone far when Oren caught up with me. We rode together for a little, but I am a slow climber. Off he went. But he stopped on occasion and I caught up. As we rode along, there was a nice looking old cement elevated bridge we would ride under. Hmmm, that's not a train bridge, it would be too sharp of an angle compared to the tracks. We were going on the bridge! The road made a complete loop around and came back up. I was trying to convince Oren to go back down so I could take his photo when here came Jim and Genny. I took a couple of photos of them, which didn't turn out too well - but I included them anyway because the road tickled me so much.

We saw a number of local riders on the road. One of them said this was called the Century Drive ride. The climb ended up being very reasonable in grade for the length. It was another day on the bike. I love being in this good of riding condition. I wonder if I will ever be able to achieve it again? Perhaps losing 60 pounds is what makes me feel like Super Woman.

The rest of the day wasn't very exciting. Hot and dry and get to town. Oren, Jim, Genny and I rode loosely together. It depended on who was stopping where. Jacinto didn't even leave the motel until 9:45 - we were at the top of the climb at that hour! There was one very exciting part. We were on the last downhill slope into town. I was behind Genny. All the sudden there was a loud BOOM! It was her rear tire. We could tell from that sound that it wasn't good. Luckily Boy Scout Jim had a spare tire. Genny made short work of unloading her bike and changing the tube and tire. Nonetheless, by the time we got going again (thank you for that downhill slope) we were SO ready to get inside out of the heat. We pulled in at the first food spot, JD's Diner. Service was unbelievably slow. But it didn't matter because we had cold drinks and air conditioning.

Oren had called to warn me of potential confusion on the very last turn. Don't go towards the water tower - which you think would be town - go the opposite direction. I called Jacinto to relay the message. Jacinto was already in Hornbrook, about half way.

The three of us ate and proceeded through town. Oren had said we could check in to the rooms already and he was eating somewhere close. We got there just fine, but did go all through town. That was fine in the end, because we'll go out of town from this side.

I lobbied real hard for a little Mexican place similar to Jilberto's at home. Oren was having nothing to do with a taco stand for dinner. We went across the street to a REALLY good Thai place. I then tried to talk Jacinto into going to the Mexican place (Serrano's) to get us burritos for tomorrow. Nope. He had enough leftovers. Darn. I guess if I wanted something bad enough I would walk the two blocks over, but I'm not doing it. Typically in the evening Jacinto is the grocery getter while I finish up the journal. So. No burrito for a snack. I probably don't need it. We have a 50 mile day, flatish until the climb at the end. I hope we can get there before it's too hot.

OK, I"m off to double check routing. There's the ACA version, the ridewithgps version, plus Oren's version of ridewithgps. Get on the interstate or not? I certainly do like the "turn right out of the parking lot and pedal to the next town" kind of days. Tomorrow is not one of those.

Scenery wasn't quite as good today, but my body is getting stronger and stronger. Since we are always heading south, I have tanned crease lines in my neck on the left side and a really great sock tan line. Oooh la la!

We are entering a twisty, turny road with lots of switchbacks. But I suppose they aren't talking about my 8' long recumbent.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was right after the You Pick blueberry place, which I wish I had taken a photo of as no one else in the group saw it. Blueberries in this heat? I thought they like the cool?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Near the top of the climb on Century Rd. - notice the interesting old bridge behind me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The road doubles back on itself. We are on top of the bridge, looking down as Genny passes under.
Heart 0 Comment 0
JIm is approaching.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We thought sunken grade was California speak for downhill. Wayne Estes tells me it means the road has sunk in places. Which it had.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mt Shasta.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Momma wasn't happy about us riding past. There were two osprey nests, one on each side of the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from the top of Century Drive - the big climb with no name.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Shade trees were few and far between today. It was definitely warming up, the closer we got to Yreka.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We were enticingly close to Yreka when Genny's tire gave a loud BOOM. Luckily Boy Scout Jim carries a spare folding tire. Genny did the work though.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 1,058 miles (1,703 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0