Wanaka: wandering around in Wanaka… - Gone Fishin' - CycleBlaze

October 31, 2012

Wanaka: wandering around in Wanaka…

In case I haven’t already mentioned, let me just repeat that Wanaka is probably my favourite place in New Zealand. Perched on the shores of Lake Wanaka, it is a very scenic location, and has just the right mix of facilities without being quite the full-on tourist town as is Queenstown, where I’m heading tomorrow.

Last night on the way back from dinner, I spotted the Patagonia Chocolate shop, which I thought might be a sister shop to the one I visited in Queenstown about 4 years ago. So after a lazy lie-in this morning, I wandered down for breakfast – chocolate croissants, and a hot chocolate drink sprinkled with ginger. But I couldn’t stop at one, and had to have another.

After getting some photos along the lake shore I visited the local bicycle shop and arranged to have the rear hub on my bike adjusted. The bearings cones were a little loose, and the one tool I didn’t bring is a cone spanner. 
I dropped the rear wheel back at the shop, and restocked my camp food supplies from the local fishing and camping store, then spent some leisure time reading the paper and drinking coffee before heading back to my laundry chores, and later, to collect my wheel from there bike shop. 
When the bike shop owner  learned of my plan to cross the Crown Range tomorrow, he let me know that a stage of the Tour of Southland cycle race will pass along the road, likely whilst I am still on it, and that there will be a rolling road closure. Suits me, I won’t mind spectating on a bike race for an hour or so.

So that has been my day off in Wanaka – shortly I’ll head out and pick a likely place for dinner, and then it’ll be back to my room to pack for an early start tomorrow. 
Despite feeling very heavy and sluggish when I arrived last night, my legs felt quite strong today, ready for another climbing session tomorrow. At least it will be a much shorter day.

That's right Boofle - there are three, and none are for you...

Chocolate lovers - look away NOW...

A novel breakfast spot...


Panarama of Roy's Bay - in the distance the Treble Cone ski fields still have some snow cover...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0