Tourist time: to Doubtful Sound... - Gone Fishin' - CycleBlaze

November 7, 2012

Tourist time: to Doubtful Sound...

To celebrate my bike and I surviving New Zealand’s back roads, today I played tourist, taking an excursion to Doubtful Sound. I could have visited Milford Sound, but I’ve been there previously, so it seemed a good idea this time to visit the other.

The day started with a bus trip to Manapouri, then a ferry ride across Lake Manapouri to West Arm, where another coach took me over the Wilmot Pass to Doubtful Sound, all before boarding the cruise boat. The trip took in some stunning scenery, and it was a perfect clear, calm and sunny day for the first time in a week. I hoping it will stay that way for a few more days while I make my way down to Invercargill.

Lake Te Anau was placid after the winds of the last few days...

From Wilmot Pass, Doubtful Sound awaits...

That is the entrance, away in the distance...

Hmmmm, now that is a bach...


Looking up towards the head of the fiord...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0