The bike and baggage: Ready for an expedition... - Gone Fishin' - CycleBlaze

The bike and baggage: Ready for an expedition...

I have another new bike for this tour. It's a Van Nicholas Pioneer: a Rohloff-equipped titanium-framed expedition touring bike. If you are interested in the details, you can read about the building the bike in a series of posts on my whispering wheels web page.

Edit: While dismantling the bike for packing I discovered a problem that could not be fixed before departure. I've been forced to pack the bike I used on my last New Zealand tour, the Sabbath Silk Route. Because this is primarily a highway touring bike I will have to adjust my itinerary to avoid the rougher back roads.

This trip will be only a shakedown tour, for larger plans are afoot, including a tour of Patagonia, South America along the Carretera Austral, built by the infamous Augusto Pinochet.

Once again, my equipment is almost entirely lightweight gear - stuff which I have used extensively for bushwalking in Australia and trekking in Nepal, and on my previous cycling tours. My philosophy is to carry no more weight on my bike than I would on my back, that is, less than 20 kg, and preferably, no more than 15 kg.

Here are my gear selections and checklist. Touring Gear Checklist

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0