Concentration: riding on marbles... - Gone Fishin' - CycleBlaze

November 6, 2012

Concentration: riding on marbles...

Distance 69.2 km. Ride Time: 4:48 hours.

According to Mavora lakes ranger Tim, today the weather would clear, and the winds would shift to southeasterly. So I was not in the least surprised to wake this morning to the sound of rain on my tent. Eventually it stopped, and I decided to pack up and get going whatever the weather, rather than hang around the lakes for another day.

With the late start it was 10am before I got on the road, but I was optimistic of reaching Te Anau by mid-afternoon.

The road south from the lakes was covered with loose gravel, with only a narrow wheel track relatively clear, but the trend was downhill, and the wind was definitely a southeasterly – more help than a hindrance. Looking down the valley there where some ominous grey clouds gathered over the tops, but I managed to outrun all but a few brief wispy showers.

So I made pretty good time for all but the last few kms of the gravel section, where a grader was operating, making the final section very difficult – it was like riding on marbles.

Once the sealed road was reached I enjoyed long sections of downhill running and with the assistance of the wind covered the remaining 30 kms to Te Anau by 3:30pm.

I’ve planned to take a cruise on Doubtful Sound tomorrow, so went straight to the booking office, then checked in at one of the holiday parks. After a hot shower, early dinner and laundry chores done I’ll be off to bed.


A last look up the valley to Mavora Lakes...

Today's ride: 69 km (43 miles)
Total: 656 km (407 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0