The Hero Of This Story Enjoys A Non-Stressful Day On Bike Trails - GOING UP! The Gulf of Mexico to Lake Superior - CycleBlaze

May 1, 2019

The Hero Of This Story Enjoys A Non-Stressful Day On Bike Trails

Alton, Illinois

Bob treated me to breakfast at a very good neighborhood breakfast joint.  It specializes in southwest-style breakfast food.  It was in the Ellendale neighborhood.  It was vibrant.  The food was delicious.  But I'll be damned if I can remember the name of it.

The route I took from Bob's house back to downtown St. Louis was pretty much yesterday's route in reverse.  Then, after a couple of navigation blunders trying to get around road construction zones, I found my way to the bike trail that runs along the Mississippi River north of the city.  It is a highly industrialized area and not particularly scenic, but still, there's the river.

The unquestionable highlight of my day came at a little rest area on the trail.  It was just a nondescript metal building, but the second I approached I was greeted by a staff of three men.  I guess they could be called trail attendants.  They man this station, provide hydration to cyclists, and help out when riders have bike problems on the trail.

One of the men, Howard, introduced himself and directed me to the porta-john.  When I came back out of there he handed me an ice cold Gatorade and I spent the next 15 minutes talking to Howard and his co-workers, Hosea and Romeo.  They were the nicest guys I have met on the entire trip.  They had all kinds of questions for me about my tour and really made me feel quite special.  I will always remember this stop.

Howard and I at the trail-side rest area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Joe was the only other person I met on the trail. A former truck driver who used to weigh 350 lbs., he credits bicycling for helping him lose a big chunk of that weight. When I ran into him again a little further up the trail, I caught him lighting up a cigarette and enjoying the rich taste of tobacco. I didn't say anything about smoking. I'm sure he knows.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I crossed the Mississippi again via the Old Chain of Rocks Bridge.  Once the Route 66 crossing of the great river for legions of cross-country travelers, the bridge is now for cyclists and pedestrians only.  There are a bunch of historic Route 66 signs and other memorabilia posted at various points on this mile long bridge.  I liked it.

The Old Chain of Rocks Bridge over the Mississippi River leads back to Illinois.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some sort of mini-castle in the river. Eleven miles away, downtown St. Louis is in the background.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This monument to Lewis and Clark overlooks the confluence of the Missouri and Mississippi Rivers.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 962 miles (1,548 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0