The Route: It's set in Jello - Go East old man... - CycleBlaze

October 25, 2013

The Route: It's set in Jello

Expanding on and mixing the metaphors, the route has no welds, rust or concrete. It's very flexible. From home, I'll take the metro out to the end of the Midland line, find the cycle track and pedal east towards Northam on the Kep Track. I'll stay with some of the wife's rellies in Northam and from there cycle on to Hyden following more back roads where there are more wife's rellies.

From Hyden, the route starts to turn to jelly. There is a back road (dirt, but all weather) to Norseman. It's about 300 km with no services or water, so it will be a bit of a challenge to carry enough water and provisions. Others have done it on bike and it is much better than the main paved hiway further north (anything is better than the main hiway from Perth to Kalgoorlie). Otherwise I can stay on the bitumen and swing to the southwest and then up to Norseman.

From Norseman, I have the option of getting on the main hiway heading east or staying off hiway and taking the old telegraph track to the Balladonia road house. From there I'll have no option but to get back on the Nullabor hiway heading for the border and Ceduna.

From S Australia there are plenty of options. I'll figure out which way to go if and when I get there. Sooner or later I'll run into the Pacific Ocean.

I might add a map to this page, once I figure out how to do it....

OK, got it... but mapping with a 7 inch tablet is not fun...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0