Mud Turtle: Stuck in it and going nowhere - Go East old man... - CycleBlaze

August 21, 2014

Mud Turtle: Stuck in it and going nowhere

Today was one of those days you don't forget.

Started out overcast, with threatening skies. Within 30 minutes I was digging out the rain gear and it rained off and on all day as the squalls swept through - big blowy tailwinds set me bouncing and zipping eastward. The bike was getting a good workout.

Got to within a couple of km of the rellies farm when a local couple invited me in to their house for a cup of tea and lunch. Kent and Carole were great to spend some time with. Kent pointed out the back track to the rellies farm - a short cut!

It's a trap!! Don't take it, you'll be sorry...
Heart 0 Comment 0

What could possibly go wrong?

Eventually I was forced to abandon poor Turtle, seized with farm clay mud. I humped my gear up to a clear spot, then dragged the bike up the hill sideways to get it out of the mudpit.

Stuck and going nowhere
Heart 0 Comment 0

Got on that new Telstra phone and begged for someone to come and find me, in a 4wd ute please. "Where are you?" they asked. "Don't quite really know, but very close I think," was my reply. Turns out I was about 1 km away, just over the hill behind the house.

Well and truly stopped
Heart 1 Comment 0

I think I've added another story to the family annal.

Bike was completely noodled, covered in a thick cloying mud clay. Chain had derailed and when I finally managed to clean the mud off of the running gear I could see the rear wheel was toast. I don't know if it was the hard riding from the past few days that had done it, or if it was the mud pit, but the end result was the same: wheel toast. 3/4 of the spokes were limp loose triple cross spaghetti and there was an ugly wobble. I can fix bikes, no troubles, but I've never built wheels.

No worries - a night consulting with Sheldon on the internet and I'll be an expert ...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0