Personal Sleeping Area - Across USA in 52 Days - CycleBlaze

April 14, 2022

Personal Sleeping Area

Friends Don and Andrea asked about the massage therapist and chiropractor for the trip.  Would be nice to have them! When we camped in Marathon TX, 4 of the riders did pay for Gage Hotel spa services, which included massages.

Here's a photo of my personal sleeping area in the gymnasium tonight. Blue sleep sack is on top of green REI sleeping bag, which is on top of inflated air mattress.  Behind and to the right is my large main duffel bag (loaned by my friend Chuck). Behind in the middle is my bike pannier (also loaned by Chuck), already packed with my rain gear for tomorrow's ride (because of a strong chance of rain). The small black bag to the left of the pannier is my waterproof front handle-bar bag, which I treat as my "man purse" to hold my phone, wallet, gloves, mid-ride snacks, sun screen, sun glasses and mirror (when not on my head), etc. To the left of the handle-bar bag is my secondary duffel bag with shorts, t-shirts, toiletries, head-lamp, and things to which I want easy access in camp. The pile of clothing behind that bag is what I plan to wear tomorrow (always best to set aside the night before). The big blue empty duffel behind everything is what the sleeping bag will be stuffed into in the morning. The only thing missing from the photo is my bike messenger bag, which holds my laptop computer, iPad, charging cords, and reading material (and which is with me as I write this).

PS. So far, no flat tires for me. The durable touring tires have paid off. Of course, they're also slower and bumpier.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0