27th Day of Riding - Across USA in 52 Days - CycleBlaze

April 11, 2022

27th Day of Riding

Another pleasant day of riding 70 miles on sunny weather on Texas country roads. Today, finally, the winds were at our backs, for the most part. 

At mile 21, my chain (which had loosened a bit in the last 4 weeks) popped off. With my bike's internally-geared hub (and no derailleur with a tension gear), I had trouble putting the chain back. It was  wedged between the hub and the frame. So I called Tom, our mechanic, who drove back from the mile 24 sag stop and helped remove the rear wheel and put the chain back in place. Later, in camp, he'll adjust the bottom bracket and thereby tighten the chain.

Today's ride: 70 miles (113 km)
Total: 1,725 miles (2,776 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Jeanna & Kerry SmithBrian,
Not sure if you're aware of it, but Rohloff makes a chain tensioner. It's a little pricey but works great. I use it on both my tandem and single bikes. As an added feature, it allows me to run a compact (50x39) crankset up front. If you REALLY want to gear down, put a 16 tooth sprocket on the hub, switch to the small chainring up front, and shift the hub into 1st gear - a cadence of 80 will result in a speed of about 3MPH (but hey, you can climb a wall!).
Kerry Smith - Team TWO-FAR
Reply to this comment
2 years ago