The bike, 2017 version.: RANS Stratus XP in Aluminum - K frame - Eschewing glitz and glamour - CycleBlaze

The bike, 2017 version.: RANS Stratus XP in Aluminum - K frame

I have been riding a RANS Stratus since 1998. I have owned four different versions of the bike. I've had this particular Stratus for eight years. Like many others, I keep tweaking my touring setup.

Mechanically I've found what works for me and haven't tweaked that at all. I use Rotor Cranks in concession to my delicate knees. They aren't made now. Most riders have moved on to light weight Q rings, which have the same knee saving advantage as the Rotors. I have a 46-36-24 setup. 11-32 in the rear. 9 speed grip shifters. Old school, but they work well on recumbents. I'm a die hard Phil Wood fan. Last year I splurged on custom wheels from Sugar Wheel Works in Portland.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This photo shows my homemade bag and homemade cell phone holder bag on the handlebars. You can see the Dinotte light in action. The rear rack is ready to bring leftovers or a carrot cake back to the room. The flag is from Soundwind Arts. I have three of their flags. I haven't worn one out yet, but I can't resist their appealing designs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0