Meeting day. - Eschewing glitz and glamour - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2017

Meeting day.

Joe and Dorrie drove in to Rifle last night. The Comfort Inn has been storing Joe's bike in their laundry room all week. He had shipped his 97 pound box via Bike Flights. His project this morning was assembling the bike and going for a test ride.

In the meanwhile Jorge had spent the night in Frisco. There's nothing like going from sea level in Florida to 9,000 feet of elevation in one day.

Me? I went for a casual walk around town. This starting from home is mighty easy on logistics. I tried not to think about the big pile on the floor next to my bike. It sure seemed like more stuff than I usually bring.

Jacinto was debating up until the last minute about which bike to bring. I've documented here his trials with the Shimano IGH on his Dean Bike. The short story is Dean Bicycles in Boulder builds a good frame, but they are not good at after care. A local mechanic who likes a challenge called Shimano up and got a new hub for the bike. Ever since then, the hub has worked perfectly. Jacinto intended to take the Dean Bike on this trip. Touring was the whole reason for the purchase. But he took his old faithful LHT out for a spin and decided that it just felt right - the Trucker is the one.

Jorge and I had spent the winter emailing about his new P-38. I have been interested in trying a different style of bike. I've spent 19 years (!) riding some version of a RANS Stratus. I've had several people recently tell me how great their P-38 is, that the seat is extra comfortable. Jorge generously offered to not only let me try his bike, but to trade me during the tour so I could get an extended test ride before plunking my money down.

Steve and Marty rolled into town from eastern Colorado. They wanted to check out tomorrow's dirt road. We agreed to drive up to Rifle Gap. They would ride some of the dirt and I would try the P-38 for dinner. Jacinto wanted to go for a run, so his dinner would taste good. Joe was busy installing a new rotor on his bike and taking it for a test ride.

There's lots of organizing to be done before a tour!

6 PM dinner at Chamo's - we were all there on time. Many conversations went on at once as we got to know each other. The waitress didn't flinch at our request for five different tickets.

We negotiated our start time in the morning. It was a short day in miles, but with about half dirt roads, we would be slower. An early start would be nice with the forecast of 90 degrees, but we didn't want to get to town too early and not be able to check in the room. End of discussion is we would meet at the Gateway Inn at 8 AM for a group depart.

I warned everyone that I'm slow, very slow. I don't think they believe that I'm not being modest. It's a fact. I'm slow but sure. I always get there in good enough shape to ride again the next day. Whatever that speed might be. The guys all say they want to start with me and ride with me. That will end after five miles, I'm quite sure.

BTW, Jacinto thinks our day is too short and we are starting too early. He is going around to Harvey Gap. That adds an extra 18 miles and ~700 feet of climbing to his day. I don't think Jacinto will be to town before us.

Joe's wife Dorrie has one more day in Colorado before heading back to work in Florida. She's going to drive to Meeker and meet Joe for a late lunch. They were agreeing that they would text locations so she would know how to find him. They both looked quite surprised when the Colorado folks agreed there would not be cell service during the day, they'd better make arrangements in advance on where to meet.

Lodging report - The Gateway ended up being $25. less than the Comfort Inn. The outside has recently been remodeled, but the inside of Steve and Marty's room was quite lacking. The carpet needed replaced and the bathroom counter was stained but clean. It was a huge room with three beds - plenty of room for the bicycles. The Comfort Inn guys said their lodging was just fine.

The guys were hardly in town before we had them busy looking at Jacinto's new bike.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Then I had to try Jorge's new P-38. It is mighty fine. I like the comfortable seat. I can see one of these in my future!
Heart 0 Comment 0
After all of that, we went to dinner at Chamo's.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto was busy bragging about how light weight he was packing. Then something happened and he added a three pound bag of pistachios to his pannier! Jacinto was quite happy with himself. He said he'd have a snack each evening with a soda. The three pound bag should last the entire trip. Whatever makes you happy, honey!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0