Meeker-Maybell, CO: Cruisin' in Colorado! - Eschewing glitz and glamour - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2017

Meeker-Maybell, CO: Cruisin' in Colorado!

Maybell elevation 5,922 feet. High point for the day - 7,022 feet.

Joe and I are leaving at 7 to beat the heat. The rest of the gang are going to the Meeker Cafe at 8. Jacinto says no hurry to get to town, Maybell offers far less than Meeker. But we will beat the heat.

My body doesn't feel too bad this morning, considering the brutal 8 hour, 40 mile ride yesterday. That was a rough start to the tour! Not to mention the broken seat. I have squeezed the tires this morning. They are good.

It looks like a great day. Hopefully more later. If you don't see anything, it's because there's no wi-fi in pokey little Maybell. BTW, I love pokey towns!

As we departed Meeker, looking back up the valley we rode down yesterday.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Joe and I rolled out right at the agreed upon 7 AM. Everyone else was going to try the Meeker Cafe for breakfast at 8. Joe and I agreed we enjoy cycling in the early morning hours when the air is fresh and before the wind and the traffic pick up.

I had ridewithgps working yesterday. Bertha (my name for the lady doing the navigating) was on the job yesterday. She was working again this morning. It wasn't too much work - we had three turns. One out of the motel parking lot, another onto 64, and then a final left onto blissful Highway 7. This is my kind of riding.

Joe and I hadn't had a chance to get acquainted in person. We kept jumping from topic to topic. Finishing some, coming back to other subjects much later. The road had a very gradual uphill for 20 miles. We saw any number of derelict buildings. I started out photographing all of them, but there were so many I had to quit. Old buildings are a favorite of mine, especially outhouses. I don't know why. A link to times gone by? My kids think I have an abnormal interest in outhouses. I guess it could be worse.

We commented on the many unusual rock formations. I'm sure this area is of great interest to geologists. We saw a coyote running through a field and several deer in different places. This is an area with large ranches. They looked to be the real deal, working ranches without the fancy gates and big ranch houses.

Gas and oil is big in this area now. If you were lucky enough to own the mineral rights under your land, life is probably mighty fine. I saw numerous pipes and markers that I recognize as related to gas and oil from our area, but I don't know enough about it to know just what they mean.

We finally hit a good uphill that topped out at mile 20. Joe and I had been riding at about the same pace. I'm not sure if that's because it's his pace also, or if he were riding slowly so we could chat. On the uphill, I pulled away. It was a good climb and we stopped for a break at the top. We noted with interest after the downhill that he was coasting away from me, while I was pedaling lightly to keep up. I don't really think Joe and his kit weighs more than me and my kit. We both have custom wheels. Similar bikes - his is an aluminum Bella, mine is an aluminum Stratus. But - he certainly rolled quite a distance away from me. Hmmm.

I mentally compared the day today with yesterday. Certainly yesterday will go down as one of the rides I'm really glad I did and I don't care to ever do it again. At least the last travel at your own risk section. Today seemed so easy in comparison. All pavement. So little traffic we almost forgot to check our mirrors. We rode side by side whenever we wanted. Two climbs, mostly 7ish%. It was a nice day on the bike. The kind that you recommend to friends as being fun and easy with just a little challenge.

Joe asked me why we didn't schedule more days like this. I was floored for a moment. What did he mean exactly? There are only a certain number of roads in Colorado, after all. He said, looking over the routing for this trip and the next one, that it seems we go out of the way to climb and why was that necessary when we could have pleasant days like this one. I had to think about that for a minute.

First there's the part about not so many roads. But I do have to admit, after thinking it about it that we do go out of the way to climb. Jacinto loves to climb. The more he sweats, the happier he is. So. I had to process the whole thought, but I guess it is true that we do seek out climbing. I'm sure the time will come that we can't do the big elevation gains. Luckily, we both enjoy climbing at the moment. I'm slow but sure. I always get to town in time for a shower before dinner!

You've heard all about distracted drivers? There is also such a thing as distracted riders. Ask Joe - a 9% grade and reading text messages doesn't go together very well. He tipped the bike right over at slow speed. All I could do was keep grinding my way up the hill. By the time I arrived, he was upright and had things put back on the bike. All was fine. Thank goodness.

We had an 18 mile downhill to town. I stopped to take a photo of an antelope, but it ran away before I could get a shot. I hope we will see more on the way to Hayden tomorrow.

Joe and I made a LEFT turn onto much busier Highway 40 into Maybell. There is a general store. A restaurant that is newly reopened, but closed on Mondays. Darn. On down the road a piece past the park is our lodging, the Victory Motel. This is a former hunting lodge and once upon a time stage stop. Our bicycles are in the garage which used to be the stable for the stage horses. How fun is that?

Now Woody and his wife run the place like a boarding house/hostel/B&B. The rooms are upstairs with shared baths. You get to wander around and pick your room. First come, first serve. I picked room number one, it seemed a little more spacious. When Jacinto arrived, he thought #2 would have been better, but I was the first one in and I did the picking.

It's a good thing they operate as a boarding house and offer dinner nightly. Otherwise we would be down at the general store buying canned chili. Tonight dinner is meatball subs with pasta salad and cherry pie for dessert. $12.00. It appears I will not be eating gluten free tonight . . . .

I've had my shower. Joe walked back to the store and brought me a V-8. That hit the spot. I tried writing this outside on the deck, but I'm sitting in the office now where the wi-fi is marginally better. I've gotten one photo to load. I may give up and wait until later for the rest.

Jacinto said he actually left the same time as the other guys and left them behind just a couple of miles from Meeker. He's also walked to the store and I ordered a second V-8. Jacinto bought a fancy black cherry soda to go with his pistachios (remember that three pound bag?). I had to try a taste, but it tastes like cough syrup to me.

I believe I'll go sit on the porch now and enjoy the breeze. It's been a fine, easy day. Just what the doctor ordered after that eight hour slog yesterday.

You have to indulge me and all of my old building photos today. What are the odds of so many old buildings in one day?
Heart 0 Comment 0
We are not geologists. We call this swiss cheese rock.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm not sure what this is, besides huge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm looking forward to an 18 mile downhill. Yeeha!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Evening report- I like quirky places, even if they aren't so convenient. The caboose last year on my birthday in British Columbia was very memorable, if an experience I do t want to repeat.

The Victory Motel was built in the 1890's as a hunting lodge. Luckily bathrooms have been added but they are down the hall. Electrical plug ins are in short supply, but there is power. The restrooms are clean and the beds have down duvets and plenty of pillows. The owner, Woody, is quite a character. We did not see his wife at all, she was shopping earlier and then she stayed in the kitchen.

There are any number of trophy size mounts in the house. Maybell is hunter' paradise. It's a little tough for some people to accept this traditional way of life.

I digress. Food- the restaurant in town wasn't open. We had a very lackluster meal here. I think a can of chili from the general store would have been better. We had meatball subs on tough bread with prefab meatballs. The salad wasn't bad and there was also a pasta salad. The pie did not appear, instead there was ice cream. We are hoping for a good meal tomorrow.

FYI, Verizon and Sprint do not work here or Meeker. AT&T has worked both places.

We had a little afternoon rain shower complete with thunder and lightening. Wind also. Now there is another round. The forecast looks good on my phone, but accu weather shows 50% chance of rain tomorrow. We shall see.

All of us but Jacinto plan to leave by 7. Continental breakfast is included or breakfast lasagna for $8.95. Jacinto is waiting to leave and going to the restaurant in town. It is supposed to be open tomorrow for breakfast.

This is one of those downhills it's hard to enjoy fully because I can see the uphill to come.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A working ranch complete with a Suburban for winter driving and horses in the corral.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sign says - Maybell - where the west is still wild. I think we added significantly to the population when we rolled into town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Isn't this the classic triker pose? Why bother to get up when you have the most comfortable seat in the house?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Steve shows off the door to the Victory.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Woody shot this elk on Muddy Pass and the elk had to be quartered and carried out by back pack. That's called earning your dinner!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Remember about the lodge being built in the 1800's? Obviously this bathroom is not original - whatever it takes to make the plumbing work!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto made so many trips to the store out of boredom that we were afraid they would think he was casing the place for a robbery!
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of Jacinto's few photos. Remember last year when I didn't have a phone camera and Jacinto was on duty? He's happy to be off duty this year.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 88 miles (142 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0