Kremmling-Eagle, CO: A picture postcard  day. - Eschewing glitz and glamour - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2017

Kremmling-Eagle, CO: A picture postcard  day.

Eagle elevation - 6,601 feet. High point for the day - 8,317 feet.

My alarm went off at 4:45 this morning in preparation for a 6 AM departure. I efficiently did all bathroom things, packed my bags, woke Jacinto up to say goodbye (I know he appreciated that), and went downstairs to have breakfast.

Joe is my kind of guy, he's always on time. He was carrying his stuff outside as I was heating my oatmeal. How much time do I have? Oh, a half hour. I'll be good.

We were upstairs at the Hotel Eastin. It is a very old building. Zane Grey stayed there while he wrote a book. Joe got the total scoop on the hotel, check his details and photos. Marty and Steve stayed downstairs in the dorm rooms. $20. a bed with a bath down the hall. Here, they got clean and white walls. Upstairs for $65. we had themed rooms with thoughtful decorations and a private bath. This was a memorable place to stay. Two thumbs up.

It was 38 degrees and we could see our breath in the air. It was agreed that we would rather get out early and not climb in the heat. It was definitely not hot yet! Everyone had layers that hadn't seen use the entire trip.

We rolled down Highway 9 for two miles. I could see a honkin' hill in front of us. I was hoping, hoping that we turned at the bottom of the hill. Of course not, remember we are doing all of that climbing today? It's necessary to climb every hill to get that much elevation. Directly at the top of the hill was our turn onto Highway 1/Trough Road. This is a little secret that I just let slip. Get over here and ride this one! The roadway at this point was all but paved. It was an excellent hard surface with no gravel.

I was almost thankful for the climbing, it helped warm me up. We were on the lee side of the mountain and in the shade for quite some time. We were not overheating from the slow climb. Finally some sun made it down to me. Ah! I saw a herd of cows in a meadow. They were all purposefully walking . . . . somewhere . . . . I couldn't tell where they were going, but they did seem to have a destination. I took a photo, but it was a bit too far away to show the comedy of their ways.

Our first significant climb started at mile four and lasted four miles. I don't mind riding dirt too much when it's uphill, but I don't have enough experience to go any speed at all on the downhill. I certainly did not enjoy one bit of the dirt downhill, even where it was hard packed.

I had passed all of the guys way back on the first climb. I was set on racking up the elevation gain, we had plenty of it today. I had three bottles of Spiz today. There's nothing better than fast burning calories. I didn't dare eat anything, I knew that food would just sit in my stomach. My body was way too busy working to digest.

There wasn't much traffic. A few people with trucks or RVs pulling their toys. A number of railroad trucks. We had been seeing them for days. A couple of logging trucks. All were polite.

I crossed the county line to Eagle county. Exactly at that line, the road surface changed from the near paved perfection to loose gravel and dirt. Emphasis on gravel. What the heck? This is no fun, especially not on the downhill.

A railroad truck pulled over and a man got out. It looked like he had something to say, so I stopped. He called out that he's a leg man and knows good legs and "you have really good thighs". Well. Perhaps I should have been alarmed, out in the middle of nowhere. But I was too busy being happy. It takes a little nerve to just throw such a compliment out there. We weren't even in a bar!

We chit chatted a little. I found out the reason for all of the railroad workers we'd been seeing. They are laying fiber optic cable. They had a five year contract and it has been extended five more years. When it is all laid, all of the trains will run automatically, putting lots of people out of work. Now I know the answer to all of those vehicles.

I might have been going downhill on the nasty gravel, but at least I had a smile on my face since I have nice legs. Heck, I was even happy with the climbing because all of that work gave me the good thighs.

Oh, the railroad guy (I didn't even ask his name) said we were crazy and there was lots more climbing and how could we possibly get up or down with all of this gravel. I didn't think it was quite that bad. At least not so far. Not compared to day one with the fist size rocks.

I passed Rancho del Rio at MM 4- they advertised all sorts of services, including a bar. I wonder if the guys would stop for a shot of fortitude before the big climb after State Bridge. Directly after Rancho Del Rio, I saw a bridge with pavement. Yes! Pavement! My joy was short lived. It was only paved on the bridge. Then there was another dirt uphill. I guess that makes sense, given the mm 4. I stopped for a half a bar. Just enough to keep the Spiz from sloshing in my stomach.

As beautiful as the Trough Road was, I enjoyed the first half far more because of the good surface. I was more than ready for pavement, even if it meant 1,700 feet of climbing in one shot.

I took a look at the State Bridge store and campground. This is the spot that rents yurts and has concerts. It's a happening place in the summer. The store had a sign that said open, everything but food and drinks 70% off. I didn't stop. I was ready to attack the big climb. I did it many years ago and the climb chewed me up and spit me out. I'm feeling strong and want to see how the day goes.

Jacinto said it took him one hour to get from the bridge to the top. I don't know how long it took me besides one rest break, which is excellent. I was at the top at 11:44. That's when I noticed the wind. I wondered if it always blows in here. Then I took the photo of the tree with no branches on one side. Yes, I think it blows here.

It was mm 9 at the top. Nine miles until Highway 6 when the traffic should lessen and the shoulder get wider. It was the same story today. Lots of traffic being considerate. But it just wasn't fun.

I stopped one time on the way down to watch the zip liners. I wondered how much money they paid for their 30 seconds of zipping. There was plenty of whooping and hollering.

Ugh. Wind isn't fair today. I did my work.

I got down to Highway 6. I was surprised I hadn't seen anyone. The wind was strong enough I had to brace my legs when I stopped. My phone was finally working, after days of no service. I had lots of pinging going on while text messages came in. Jorge was at the top waiting and waiting for the other guys. We were nine short miles apart. Nope. I wasn't waiting. I wanted to get to Eagle before this wind got worse. Ten miles to go.

I have to be honest and say I didn't really look around. Highway 6 runs next to I-70, so it isn't that exciting of riding. For some reason, my phone battery got sucked dry today. Perhaps because I've been on the road so long. I was down to 10% and waiting for it to die any minute. I knew where the Hawthorne Suites was from the interstate because it's visible at the exit. But not from Highway 6. Those who know me know how directionally challenged I am. My phone worked long enough for me to google the exact location in relation to where I was. Google is mighty handy.

I got checked in and showered. I ate my can of chili and enjoyed every bite.

The rest of the guys showed up and checked in.

Joe is the efficient one. I have been saying all week that the Glenwood Bike Path will be open because spring snow melt has been gradual. Guess what? They closed the path today at noon! Joe checked, I probably would have just bicycled over there.

I called and spoke twice with very friendly Lisa at CDOT. There is no shuttle. She suggested calling bike shops in town or Colorado Mountain Express. The other choice is riding over dirt Cottonwood Pass to Carbondale.

I'm for riding. The guys feel cheated out of their downhill reward day. They want a shuttle ride rather than another dirt road.

short story - after calling several friends, I have found a coworker who will go get my van and drive up here to shuttle us between exit 129 and exit 121, where the road is closed.

Now we are going to dinner to discuss the logistics. That was a surprise ending to what was an enjoyable day. Stay tuned.

In my hunger at the store yesterday, I purchased this 16 oz. can of chili. I'm too cheap to leave it behind. Even canned chili tastes good after 4,500 feet of climbing!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Let the fun begin!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here we go! 25 miles of dirt on highway 1/Trough Road. Wayne Estes commented that I posted this photo just for the tail light visual. It is good, isn't it? For the record - the trike and the bike to the left with the yellow tail pack are the two with the Cyrgolite 100. The other two bikes have Dinotte tail lights
Heart 0 Comment 0

Dinotte 300R vs. Dinotte Quad Red - light comparison

Sometimes it was difficult to keep my eyes on the road with the beautiful views.
Heart 0 Comment 0
How many years and it hasn't fallen yet?
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had an admirer stop just to tell me what great legs I have. Perhaps I should have been insulted, but I took it as a compliment.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the top there were sheep on one side.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cabins on the other side of the road at the top. MM 9 was the top.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look at this wind sculpted tree. It was not blowing in our favor.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 268 miles (431 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0