Waterton to Many Glacier - Waterton and Glacier - CycleBlaze

June 20, 1990

Waterton to Many Glacier

Canoeing on Cameron Lake

(The original journal ended with the previous entry.  I'm not sure now whether I quit maintaining it or just lost the final pages, but it's miissing either way.  The remaining narrative is drawn from what we remember about the last days of the tour.)

I would like to claim that I remember more about this day, but actually I don’t.  I recall gradually climbing toward Chief Mountain and the international border all morning; and I’m sure we stopped for lunch in Babb; and that it was warm and sunny; and that we camped in Swift Currwnt and had dinner at the Many Glacier Lodge.  But that’s it - it’s a very vague day in my mind for some reason.  

That’s why I journal so faithfully now.  It takes a fair amount of time and energy and costs me some sleep; but I don’t end up with all of this white space in my mind.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Marvin PaxmanOld Chief or as we usually call it, Chief Mountain. From the Alberta prairie towns just to the northeast, this mountain appears to be the face and head dress of an old chief lying in state. https://www.flickr.com/photos/12113110@N05/5903097987
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonOh, for goodness sakes. I didn’t think anyone read these old journals. Thanks!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago

_____

Elevation gain: today, 4,800; for the tour, 17,200’

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 242 miles (389 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0