Day 1 - The Girl Friday Rides Again - CycleBlaze

December 20, 2010

Day 1

Whoa, the weather was GREAT today! Plus, the riding was nice. Great scenery, not much traffic, friendly people, the works!

I started in Julian after being dropped off by my mom and dad and Maggie the dog. Yes, it was in a car. I know, I didn't climb the actual mountain and didn't really DESERVE the nice 7-mile downhill at the start. But heck, I don't care! Truth is, time was a consideration, I couldn't take more days than I have and I had to cut corners somewhere, so why not cut the climb? :-)

Anyway, where was I? Oh yes, Julian. We had to have apple pie of course, and coffee, and after saying our goodbyes I was off. I say, anytime you can start a bike tour on a long downhill it is a good start. And it started like that, on a long descent down Banner Grade towards the desert. After that is was kinda flat with a few little ups and downs.

I made it to Agua Caliente Park campground where they have hot spring pools. Aaaaaah, now THAT is a great way to end a day on a bike.

I wasn't in the campground more than ten minutes before the lady from the camp next to me came over to chat. She is training for her first century and "would like to try touring too." So Katy and I talked for a while.

After that it was off to the hot springs pool where I chatted with some more people. "I rode solo from Jackson Hole to Santa Cruz last summer," a woman in the hot tub told me. It was, well, WAY cool to be among so many like minded people. We (and a bunch of other people) chatted until I felt like a chicken in a pot of soup, what with the hot water and all, and I had to get out and cool off a little.

This campground is really nice. The sites are pretty close together but I have a nice end spot and my neighbors are quite. They are predicting clouds and showers tomorrow but as of now I see more stars than I could count in a lifetime! And you can tell there are springs nearby, I can't recall hearing so many frogs at once!

Today was a short day at only 36 miles which was fine by me. Kind of nice to start on an easy day. Tomorrow I'll ride further east .

As a side note of possible interest. My computer detected wifi in the campground. It was for the "EarthquakeTracker". Hmmmm? Maybe we'll get "The Big One" tonight? I've always wanted to be in a big earthquake in the middle of the desert. An earthquake on the elevator of a high rise....not so much.

Ready to get this show on the road!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Thanks for the lift up the mountains, mom, dad and Maggie.
Heart 0 Comment 0
WOO-HOOO! And all down hill too!
Heart 1 Comment 0
That's me riding through the desert
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Did I mention I would be riding the old stage coach route?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just thought this looked cool
Heart 1 Comment 0
Weee! Had a little climb to get here but the downhill was fun.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I better mind my P's and Q's. Don't want to get thrown in the big house.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The old Vallecito stage coach stop building
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
At the Agua Caliente Store
Heart 1 Comment 0
Aaaaaaah! The hot tub. Now THAT is a nice way to end the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 36 miles (58 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0