Travel Tip - The Adventures of The Girl Friday - CycleBlaze

January 9, 2010

Travel Tip

Travel tip:

The Girl Friday was packed on a suitcase, no problem there, but I had 5 different little bags and other odds and ends to deal with while boarding trains and planes--front and rear panniers, handlebar bag, frame pump, racks, etc.

Solution:

Last summer I bought an old suitcase at Goodwill for $10. I packed my loose, little things and a couple of bags inside that and when I got to Santa Barbara simple left it on the train (though I told the conductor he could have it to sell or get rid, which he said he was happy to do).

In Phoenix, the night before my flight home, I was debating on whether to UPS some stuff home in order to, once again, avoid carrying a bunch of different bags and things. "Let's go to Goodwill and buy another suitcase," my friend Donna suggested. Now why didn't I think of that?!

I found a suitcase for $3 that was large enough for my two large Ortlieb panniers, my handlebar bag and a bunch of other odds and ends. The rest fit into the bike suitcase. I took my two front panniers as carry-on luggage.

I will keep the $3 beauty for my next trip, when I will discard it when I get to my start point. It's not much to look at but it did the job!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0