SEARCHLIGHT, NEVADA: Where the Name of the Town is its Highlight - High Stakes Bike Touring - CycleBlaze

March 3, 2018

SEARCHLIGHT, NEVADA: Where the Name of the Town is its Highlight

"Are you packing up to go today?" asked the National Park Ranger as he parked his pickup truck next to my campsite.  I thought the answer should have been pretty obvious since I was in the middle of taking down my tent.

"Yeah," I replied to the question anyway, "it's time to bike on outta here."  (Yes, I said "outta.")

"Just sayin', there's a strong winds advisory out there again today . . . thirty or forty miles an hour coming from the south."

"Luckily I'm going west, back to Searchlight," I answered.

"Ya know, that's 3,000 feet straight up."

"I do know that.  I've been trying to mentally prepare for that ever since I got here."

"Well, at least it isn't 120-degrees."  (A temperature I'm sure they get occasionally down here.)

"Yeah, at least I've got that going for me."

"Okay," the ranger concluded, "I just wanted to make sure you knew what you were getting into.  Good luck."

I forgot to tell him that I also haven't been feeling well--just to get him a little MORE worried about me.

A little earlier, while waiting for my coffee to brew, I climbed up into the rocky hills to get this picture of my campsite from above.
Heart 0 Comment 0
With coffee properly consumed, I went for a hike. Oh, oh . . . the vultures are moving in. Can't they wait at least until I get on the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It had been so nice at Cottonwood Cove.  It was by far the warmest weather I've had and it felt great not to be bundled up in layers of clothing.  Even at night I don't think it got below 50-degrees.  I don't recall seeing a cloud in the sky.  Unfortunately, I get restless when on a bike tour and every day I feel compelled to move on to something new.  I couldn't delay any longer.   After my conversation with the ranger, I began my slow, slow bike ride.

Less than half-way back up to Searchlight, the clouds were there to greet me and the layers of clothing went back on my body.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Along the way this little keyhole caught my eye. There was no sign along the road pointing it out, so I'm going to assume I made a discovery. I can't tell you how satisfying it is to be the first human on earth ever to see this fine geological feature.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Prickly pear cactus
Heart 0 Comment 0
Teddy Bear cholla. (I only know that because I saw it on an information board a couple miles back.)
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the first flowering plant I've seen.
Heart 0 Comment 0

What a dastardly difference 3000' makes.  When I reached Searchlight it was bitterly windy and cold.  I don't think they use the term "windchill" around here, but this was downright Minnesota-like.  Officially, it was above 40-degrees, but I would estimate the windchill to be about -5.  A bit of an exaggeration, perhaps, but I can tell you I had my gloves and wool cap back on.

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 137 miles (220 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0