QUARTZITE, ARIZONA: Where I Wrote Up My Day In Three Parts, Using Only Pictures and Captions - High Stakes Bike Touring - CycleBlaze

March 10, 2018

QUARTZITE, ARIZONA: Where I Wrote Up My Day In Three Parts, Using Only Pictures and Captions

PART ONE:  Morning Fun in the Sand Dunes

Before I could start riding my bike, I had to explore this new desert environment. It was hard to hike in the dunes because the sand was so fine and so deep, but it was worth the effort. Another gamble, another WIN!
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Hey, I'm stuck! Why did you drag me up here?"
Heart 0 Comment 0
"I can't be troubled by your misfortune right now. I'm standing on my head. You KNOW I'm happy when I stand on my head!"
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Glad you're happy, Greg, but now I'm REALLY stuck. To hell with your hare-brained ideas. Suddenly, I'm GLAD the sun burned your skin to flaming redness yesterday."
Heart 0 Comment 0
"What THIS? It's only a little pink. The pain only woke me up three or four times last night. That's nothing to a tough guy."
Heart 0 Comment 0

-

PART TWO: Fun On Interstate 10

Interstate riding isn't so bad when you get a little scenery and wide shoulders.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Interstate-10 went up another notch when I began seeing my favorite "trees"--saguaros--off to the right.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sign not only indicated the freeway exit, it also seemed to be pointing right at Dome Rock itself. I will have to explore.
Heart 0 Comment 0

-

PART THREE:  Afternoon Fun Around Dome Rock

Even with no shoulder, Dome Rock Road was a refreshing change of pace. I didn't mind the sprinkling rain either.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong took me on a gravel roads around Dome Rock.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
It started raining a little harder at this point. I put on my rain jacket and decided I had better move on to Quartzite and try to find a motel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think I found the world's smallest storefront on the outskirts of Quartzite.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 359 miles (578 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0