T-2 The Packening - The French Connections - CycleBlaze

September 3, 2021

T-2 The Packening

I woke to a curt missive from across the sea:

Dear Sir or Madam,
We are sorry to inform you that we are currently receiving a very large number of requests and will not be able to process them all.
We remind you that a negative result of an antigen test taken at a pharmacy, available all over France, grants the user a health pass that is valid for three days (72 hours).

Yeah, we're not going to pay 58€ every three days just to get a QR code. We'll take our chances with the bureaucracy, and with the kindness of campground management to accept our flimsy CDC cards as proof of vaccination until the government comes through.

We also received our test results, so all our other papers are in order. Phew!

As I type, my fellow traveler is scurrying between basement and bedroom, assembling bits and pieces of vital touring gear. I get cold very easily, so unfortunately I'm having to pack the whole shebang: rain jacket, rain pants, helmet cover, shoe covers, "glove covers" (I don't know what else to call them), arm warmers, tights, thermal underwear, fleece, buff, etc. This is all stuff that has served me well over hundreds of damp Seattle commutes, and experience has taught me that I will need every last one of these weapons in the quest to stay warm and dry. These take up 1/3 of a large pannier. The standard fare of shorts, jerseys, socks, and camp clothes consumes the rest. Hopefully Sunyoung's clothes pannier will not be so cramped.

Our cooking gear goes in one small pannier, and the air mattress in the other. There's room for a few more small items in each. We'll have to fill our fuel bottle and buy a lighter our first day on the road.

Sleeping bags go in Sunyoung's panniers, and the tent lies on my rear rack secured by a cargo net.

When all is said and done, we're simply not going to have much room for food. We'll make it work somehow.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Steve Miller/GrampiesYour route goes through many of our favourite places, so it will be fun to follow as you explore them.

I "sort of" like the frankness of that French response about the health pass. They seem to say (they do say!) "We're busy so get lost". How different from "Your request is important to us, please stand by and we will process it as soon as possible"! If a video, you would have also had that classic French shrug, possibly with a désolé.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Michel FleuranceHope you will recover from the cycling bit bug. Steve M just sent me an e-mail to let me know you will be crossing Nantes. Nice interactive map. Like Keith K, I will be more than happy to help you. If you wish or need, you can contact me at: michel dot fleurance @gmail dot com
Have a great bike ride.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kevin StevensTo Michel FleuranceMerci beaucoup, Michel! Do you live in Nantes? It would be a pleasure to meet. I will contact you by email. The generous spirit of fellow cyclists never ceases to amaze me.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Michel FleuranceTo Kevin StevensConsidering your track, you will arrived north of Nantes, la Chapelle sur Erdre, Sucé sur Erdre. You will be departing Nantes on the East side, Sainte Luce sur Loire where we live. So far if I have no commitment, I will try to meet you on your north arrival side to Nantes.

I recommend this camping Belle Rivière located on your track.
Rte des Perrières, 44980 Sainte-Luce-sur-Loire
+33 2 40 25 85 81
www.camping-belleriviere.com
Reply to this comment
2 years ago