Foundation Louis Vuitton - The French Connections - CycleBlaze

October 27, 2021

Foundation Louis Vuitton

We were glad to leave our itinerary for our last two days in France to Susan. She knows her way around Paris. For today, she reserved tickets for us at Foundation Louis Vuitton, which sounds like a charity that gives handbags to orphans, but is in fact a museum. We met at her place and took two subway lines to the vast Bois de Boulogne on the outskirts of the city.

I was feeling a little fatigued, but I didn't want to miss this opportunity. The building, designed by Frank Gehry, is a work of art itself.

Heart 4 Comment 0

The main attraction was a collection of mostly impressionist paintings owned by the Morozov Brothers.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I normally like to take photos of the artworks that stood out to me, just to have a record to trigger my visual memory, but the place was just so damn crowded that my attention was already divided between viewing the paintings and navigating my way through the sea of people. I was also fatigued. I think that after long periods of exertion, my body shuts down for a while once it knows that it's safe to do so. After a while of viewing these lovely paintings, I made my way to the upper levels for a breath of fresh air.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I found a bench in a quiet area and enjoyed the peacefulness while Susan and Sunyoung took their time viewing the exhibit. Then we all met at the top and chatted over a cup of coffee. I was starting to perk up a bit at that point even though I passed on the caffeine. Then it was back to the subway and all its charms:

Heart 0 Comment 0

Susan offered her place for dinner. We picked up some tasty food from various little shops in the neighborhood, putting together a pretty sumptuous feast. Sunyoung and I had the bright idea to get our COVID tests out of the way, so we left before dark on that quest. We visited four different pharmacies. Two wouldn't do the test at all, while the other two said to return the next day. So while there are a lot of pharmacies that will test you, it's not quite as simple as they make it out to be. That's been our experience with almost everything in France. If you're a Veruca Salt, "I want it now" type of person, you're probably better off staying in the States.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0