DAY 25 - SUMMERVILLE - Atlantic Canada - Counter Clockwise - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2022

DAY 25 - SUMMERVILLE

Day 25 - Hit the road from Maitland after a good fresh cooked breakfast and Americana Coffee at the General Store and Cafe.  Troy you are an amazing chef!

Heart 3 Comment 1

Today's route looked easy enough so I didn't rush to hit the road.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Well, I was fouled as the road started out level and then took a turn upward.  Rolling terrain with steep climbs just filled the day.  This coastal route allowed views of the bay, but nothing more.   Passing through farmlands and a few smaller towns, the road just resembled a roller coaster.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Daniel SpanglerGlad there was no traffic, dog. Looks like a sunny day.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

There was almost no traffic to speak of the entire day.  In fact I didn't see a lot of people either.

I stopped 1/4 of the way into the route for some treats at a roadside baked goods sale, that would be all I'd see until I arrived in Summerville.

Heart 3 Comment 0

I guess the pictures do it justice.  You had to be there to get the real feel.  Anyway, I got it done and pushed through to Summerville NS home of a beautiful Inn (Flying Apron Inn and Cookery), a firehouse, and a church.  

Heart 3 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerYes! Cool image
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerWell thank you. This was at a legion building, I turned around to capture and take a short break.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I was exhausted and the restaurant closed on 35 minutes.   The owner Melissa and her staffer Nancy took good care of me.  Had a great dinner and plenty of water and a beer.

I was hoping to stay at the Inn, but it was booked.  It is a popular place for sure - beautifully decorated with character and charm.   

The girls really felt bad for me and tried to reach out to friends to secure me an overnight, but came up empty.  They told me that the route I road was a tough one.  They said another cyclist who visited, said he's ridden in Europe, and he thought this route was one of the hardest he's done.

Well, I agreed for sure. 

OVERNIGHT -  I decided to stealth camped behind the church a block from the Inn.  The girls invited me to come back for food in the morning so....I will.

Heart 3 Comment 0

Tomorrow's plan is to ride to Windsor and get a room.  I'm going to adjust my last couple days in Nova Scotia to bypass or repeat the same climbs over again.

More to come tomorrow!

Look closely you might see me...
Heart 2 Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerGood decision to bypass the hills you’ve already climbed. No reason to do those again.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerI think so….the folks I talked to said it is more of the same and nothing scenic.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 919 miles (1,479 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
brandon spanglerglad you got in somewhere safe! hope tomorrow goes smoother
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerThank you Brandon! I have a good plan going forward. Lov you
Reply to this comment
1 year ago