DAY 24 - MAITLAND - Atlantic Canada - Counter Clockwise - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2022

DAY 24 - MAITLAND

Note: Poor wifi so I can't post images right now, so stop back. 

You got lucky, better service and pictures are posted....
Heart 3 Comment 0
You scroll through the pics while I eat....
Heart 3 Comment 0

Day 24 - Woke up in New Glasgow to another beautiful day at the church.   Thank you Lynn at the Trinity Church there for a great tent spot.  

Artwork...what an amazing piece here right. At the coffee shop too.
Heart 3 Comment 1
This moment does not show how busy this place was....I mean a constant flow of humans.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Slipped down to Cafe Bean and relaxed having coffee and a bagel, time went by quick.  9 am started moving on 4 West toward Truro NS then onward to Maitland Family Campground.

4 West runs alongside or close to the Trans Canada Hwy for most of the way to Truro.  You can often hear the traffic, but can't see it.   

Heart 2 Comment 0

Roadside Video Captures a moment!

Heart 3 Comment 0

My route, 4w (signed as the "Blue Route" was mostly downhill to just outside Truro.  Traffic was almost nothing, seriously it was hard to believe.

I had one scary thing happen today.  As I was riding the calm 4W in noticed that the neighboring Trans Canada Hwy was climbing.  When I glanced back at the 4w in noticed the color of the road was changing.

It was looking like it was changing to dirt or clay.  That freaked me out!!!  I said crap the road is ending.   

Well, you can laugh at me now, premission granted, the color of the asphalt changed, but it was still paved.  I had seen this before going north, but....

Heart 2 Comment 0

Back to the ride..this route was inland through farmlands and forests.  There was some homes along the way - it really was nice.

Heart 2 Comment 0

I stopped at a golf course for two grilled cheeses and a tall Pepsi and got back at it - Truro lied  ahead and the coastal route I was dreaming about all day.

Well, I was shocked - after interfacing with urban Truro, I found but rolling countryside lye ahead.  The lady at the golf course gave me a clue, but I didn't absorb it.   

The road rolled through beautiful Pennsylvania-Like countryside.   Up and down through farmland and river crossings.  

One bridge I crossed I could see adventure guides launching boats for tours.  They were dragging the boats through mud to get to the brown waters edge.  I think this is part of the Bay of Fundy where the tides change drastically.

I almost stopped to ask about camping there, but I made reservations at the Maitland Family Camp and didn't want to break that promise 

I'm following 236, and headed for JCT 215 to Maitland.  Just when I thought the rollers were over they began again on 215.

A motorist lady saw me later in Maitland and said, "you have balls..." I had to chuckle!

Well, I made it to Maitland and it did not disappoint!   Maitland has a cool general store, ice cream shack and cafe.   You can't miss it either.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Refueled twice on ice cream.  I also talked to Troy about breakfast in the morning!    The cafe opens at 8 am and Troy will make coffee and fresh breakfasts to order - I'm there!

Heart 2 Comment 1
Tamora StumThe A-Frame house you always wanted..... Cute!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I want you to know how fortunate I am to have met Barb and Mike, the owners of the Maitland Family Campground.  They have been so kind.  They upgraded me to an "A" frame for the night - rain wad in the forecast.   How kind!  Then,  I asked them for some rum and they delivered that too.  

Learn more about Maitland - another NS Gem.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Campfire again with my "A" waiting for me - life is great!

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 874 miles (1,407 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Tamora StumAnother Great Day for Moser!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago