DAY 23 - NEW GLASGOW - Atlantic Canada - Counter Clockwise - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2022

DAY 23 - NEW GLASGOW

....destination was Ponds, but.....

Day 23 - New Glasgow, Nova Scotia.  Earlier in the day was to stop somewhere near Ponds, NS, but I had no where picked for an overnight.   The campground I wanted to use wasn't excepting an outside visitors.  

So, I was feeling good anyway and just kept going.....

Heart 2 Comment 0

Morning Thought:   Let's try to brush off the rust and get down the road.....after two overnights at the University due to rain.

This was a sculpture I saw on my wet walk downtown yesterday.  I thought it was speaking to me!

Heart 2 Comment 1
Heart 2 Comment 0
The sculpture had a lot going on and was hard to photograph. The bike stood out though.
Heart 2 Comment 0

At 7:30 am I was heading out of town, as I connected to the route I thought better check the Tall and Small Cafe.  It was OPEN and it would be the last civilized place, except for a convenience store, the entire route!

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Coffee, bagel and plenty of sunshine set the stage for an outstanding day.

Heart 2 Comment 0

MOMENT:   Met Eric at the cafe.  He is a Warm Showers Host (in active right now).   If you are passing through and he is actively hosting, say hello.  Eric is a cool person and has a lot of local knowledge!

Heart 2 Comment 0
Lunch snacks...
Heart 2 Comment 0

ROADSIDE THOUGHT:

Well, I'm taking a break (1 pm) at the XTR, one pump convenience store, just outside Ponds NS.  NS 245 out of Antigonish turns into Shore Road (245 west) at the split.   I highly recommend this route, it was one of the flattest roads I've ridden Nova Scotia.  Traffic was very mild to non-existent.

Heart 2 Comment 0

NOTE:  I decided skip Cape George this this time due to the strong headwinds that were forecast for the day.   It was the correct decision too; it was blowing hard.

The decision allowed me to spend special time at another, less visited or popular  lighthouse and fishing harbour.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Tamora StumIs that Rose and a friend???
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I had the big guns out today, I hope I captured some special images.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Leaving there all sights were focused on Glasgow, still no where to sleep.  Just outside the town limits I googled churches and called the first one on the list.  It was 3 pm, getting late for church offices, but Lynn answered.   "Hello, can I help you....". I said I need a place to setup a tent can you help!   "Yes, I don't see a problem, come by...you'll be safe here..."

Heart 2 Comment 0

What a location in another nice town.  Went to dinner and now at the library, nice!

Treated myself, all I had all day was peanut butter and ginger snaps, oh and a bagel.
Heart 2 Comment 1
brandon spanglerthat looks amazing!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 2 Comment 1

Thanks for joining my day gang; any questions?  

Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Tamora StumEating fancy today! Looks yummy! xoxoxo
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithHi Keith,

We're in Pictou until Sunday. Are you headed this way? If you are let's get together.
Kerry Smith

P.S. Really enjoyed the photos and commentary of the Cabot Trail, but after your description we are glad we did not attempt it on the tandem!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Jeanna & Kerry SmithI’m leaving Maitland this morning. Poor WiFi just got your message. Heading yo Summerville Inn….is that near you?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago