DAY 21 - ANTIGONISH - Atlantic Canada - Counter Clockwise - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2022

DAY 21 - ANTIGONISH

Day 21 - Woke up to another beautiful day to ride, I just wish the route was as nice.  NS 4W to the Trans Canadian Highway (104).  This posting will be short because the roadway was long and boring.   The goal today was to get to Antigonish NS and plan the next day's route.  I had ridden most of this in the opposite direction on my way counter clockwise to Cape Breton so I knew what to expect.  

Heart 2 Comment 0

Today I saw another loaded touring cyclist heading east.  He was climbing the 104's rolling highway, looking exhausted like I probably did at that point.   The quality of the road (Trans-Canada Hwy) is ok for cyclists in my opinion, nice clean shoulders most of the time (will rumble strips); it just lacks services and maybe there might be just a little to much highspeed traffic to enjoy pedaling.

Anyway, I mapped myself to the Starbucks at St. Francis Xavier University and I made it.  This was the first real town since Halifax, so it was a welcome site.  The University is amazingly beautiful and welcoming.  A cool thing is they rent rooms out during the summer; I got one for an overnight and it was fantastic.  It is just outside downtown and very close to Tim Hortons, McDonalds and a brewery.  Governor's Hall, where the rooms are located, has all the conveniences you might need, like washer and dyers, plus there is a gym and an inside pool adjacent to the building.  Their WIFI is locked down, but they have computers in the lobby with internet connection.  

The staff is 24-7 so your needs are met.   Weekend rates are higher on the weekends so....

Day 22, I'm very excited about tomorrow's route.  I'm going to head the water again and take 235 (I think) as far as my legs will take me and where I might find an overnight.  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0