A rare mistake by Booking.com - Free Eastern Europe - CycleBlaze

August 23, 2022

A rare mistake by Booking.com

First night in Poland

Since 2017, I’ve made over 50 successful reservations with Booking.com. The failures are nearly always due to mistakes by the host: For example a hotel in Beijing didn’t say in their listing that they cannot accept foreigners. A hotel in Bulgaria didn’t properly block out their listing for a weekend when they hosted a wedding. A hotel in Cambodia was fully booked. Never did I loose any money. (Either because I didn’t pay before arriving or because the hotel refunded me on the spot).

But Booking made a mistake with one of my reservations in Poland: The app showed the price as 307 South African Rand on some screens and R511 on other. The last price I was shown before finalizing transaction was R307, but R511 was billed to my bank card.

The app blocks users from taking screenshots (Why?). Fortunately I had a second phone to take a photo with. Customer support didn’t answer my query. It seems like they don’t even care about profiting from their own mistakes, which is fraud.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 94 km (58 miles)
Total: 2,261 km (1,404 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Mike AylingGive them a serve on Tripadvisor and on you social media, if you use it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago