Sukhothai - Kamphaeng Phet - Frankie goes to.....the North of Thailand (2019) - CycleBlaze

November 15, 2019

Sukhothai - Kamphaeng Phet

Transition stage would probably be the most polite description of the utterly unexciting ride today. Flat and fast down Hway 101 with only a couple of minor undulations just before arriving at Kamphaeng Phet Historical Park. No surprise or disappointment about it though, as I have done exactly that same ride in 2010. On that occasion 9 years ago I was really impressed with the setting and the tranquility of the Historic Park and Kamphaeng Phet itself and I stayed one night longer than I had intended to. 

And once again I really enjoyed visiting  the Park right along the #101. They have even made it more attractive with some lovely entrance decorations and the compound itself is still extremely well looked after. I could hardly believe I was more or less by myself in there and spent at least two hours enjoying the temple ruins mostly dating from the 13th and 14th century. I guess you have to call Sukhothai more spectacular but I definitely prefer the atmosphere of Kamphaeng Phet. I wouldn´t necessarily invest more than half a day though but this of course is a matter of individual preference. 

From the Park I rolled along the northern city wall towards the Three J Guesthouse which is still as unique and attractive as it was almost 10 years ago. Still in the hands of Khun Chorin and his family you can get various types of accommodation, from backpacker standard rooms to family apartments holding up to 10 people. I went for one of the bungalows again, well equipped with aircon and fridge. Usually 500 Baht but he will quickly come down to 400. 

Mind you the guesthouse is almost 2 km from the town center along the Ping River but Swiss fellow cyclist Daniel and I walked it both ways without any problems. Otherwise there is an excellent small Thai restaurant just round the corner from the guesthouse as well. Almost a replica of my 2010 visit, I really like it here and have again extended to two nights....

Actually this photo would have been good enough to describe the cycling part today
Heart 1 Comment 0
This gentleman didn´t hesitate one second to peel two som-o (a special sort of grapefruit) for me. I have never been charged for this time consuming process, neither by him nor when having a pineapple or a watermelon
Heart 0 Comment 0
The result, my second breakfast. The very yummy deep fried bananas were just given to me for free, another thing that will happen all the time when stopping at those remoter villages in Thailand
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltMight be blue water lilies
http://pza.sanbi.org/nymphaea-nouchali-var-caerulea
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Frank RoettgenHa, ha, I decided to leave this photo uncommented, Bill, hoping you would be helping me out again.... Unfortunately the photo doesn´t really show the beauty of this pretty flower, as I couldn´t get close enough. But I can´t afford getting my cycle boots soaking wet.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
I see it as my obligation to pose with the locals, trying to repay their hospitality. I guess I have to do at least three photos (usually selfies) per day while stopping along my route. This time I asked to have one myself
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wat Chang Rob, the principle temple
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wat Phra Si Iriyabot
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the way into town along the Northern City Wall
Heart 4 Comment 0
Wat Khu Yang, Kamphaeng Phet
Heart 0 Comment 0
I found it very difficult to shoot a photo representing the Three J Guesthouse properly. It is such a labyrinthine compound. Here you look at the central, two story common recreation area. The rooms and bungalows are all around it
Heart 2 Comment 0
Twilight down at the Ping River
Heart 4 Comment 0
The foot and neck massage stalls at the river promenade
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the second day Khun Chorin took Daniel and me out to his homestay along a little lake approximately 30 km away from Kamphaeng Phet
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sukhothai - Kamphaeng Phet
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 88 km (55 miles)
Total: 1,093 km (679 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0