New Zealand - North Island - Frankie goes to.....the Gulf of Thailand (2022) - CycleBlaze

December 22, 2021

New Zealand - North Island

As I mentioned on the first page I should be cycling along the Mekong now but my departure did not only get delayed once again but I had to change the route as well. I will get into those details when I will post about my actual trip a bit later. 

I wish to fill the gap and share some pics on how I spent my last two years. This has got nothing to do with cycling but I absolutely adore the country and the Far North -where I spent most of my time - in particular. 

In March 2020 I was up in Houhora Heads for a few weeks of fishing with my temporary camping setup when the travel restrictions were imposed. I wouldn´t have made the 1000 km back to my NZ "headquarters" in Porirua/Wellington Province within the 48 hours notice so I had to quickly look into alternatives. No difficult decision though, as the Wagener Holiday Park is just and only perfect for my demands. 

I started off with a large tent and a fishing boat but once it became apparent I would be staying through autumn and winter I purchased a caravan and a towing vehicle as I thoroughly enjoyed that "mobile" lifestyle  I can actually see myself doing that for quite some time while in New Zealand. But the real passion I developed up there is open-water fishing. I would have been out either in my boat or surfcasting at least 8 out of any 10 days and despite my intitial concern I never got even close to being tired of it.

My recent home, just 65 km short of Cape Reinga, the northern tip of the country.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cape Reinga with the lighthouse in the background. Mystical place for the Maori people where the spirits of the dead enter the underworld.
Heart 2 Comment 0
That´s how I started off: with a tent and an inflatable dinghy. The Houhora Harbour in the background, what a place to be "stuck"!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I then got myself a 14 ft aluminium boat which I can launch and retrieve entirely on my own.
Heart 1 Comment 0
New Zealand´s most prominent venue when it comes to surfcasting: 90 Mile Beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
Auckland, blessed with my presence whenever there is some top-sports event on offer, like...
Heart 0 Comment 0
...the America´s Cup. Here the winning New Zealand boat, named Te Rehutai, is being launched.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And of course THE New Zealand flagship, the All Blacks. Here against Tonga during the Pasifika Tournament.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The volcanoes Mount Ruapehu and Mt. Ngauruhoe in the very center of the North Island.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Me overlooking New Zealand´s capital Wellington from Mount Victoria. In my opinion the country´s most attractive city.
Heart 1 Comment 0
As much as I adore my life in the caravan, there is a house in Plimmerton / Wellington Province waiting for me too. Here I am looking over to Mana Island along the Kapiti Coast with the South Island in the background.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0