Day 9: Had Lamae - Had Niyom - Frankie goes to.....the Gulf of Thailand (2022) - CycleBlaze

January 16, 2022

Day 9: Had Lamae - Had Niyom

So what to do in the current weather conditions? My biggest asset is time.  Not going at all is no option as you don´t really want to be sitting on one of those "filthy" beaches without being able to swim. Doing a lot of kilometers on one day and getting to Koh Samui as quickly as possible is no option either as it is so challenging - it will push me beyond my current limits quickly. So my solution is to do the exact opposite: Take it as easy as possible, look for as much shelter (=side roads through plantations) as I can and explore new territory at the same time.

And I am delighted to tell you my plan worked out. That darn wind was stronger than ever and I still had a great day out on the bike at the same time. Cycling has got so much to do with attitude. Sometimes I believe it is more important than physical fitness.  So I took any opportunity to roll away from the "main roads" #4019/4112 - which are technically still side roads - as long as it wasn´t a cul-de-sac  but some sort of u-shape. Does that make sense? I can obviously not describe all my turns in detail but it was definitely a zig-zag affair. And funny enough I still had 50+ km on the clock at the end of the day and it feels like I got there almost effortless.

And it brought me to Niyom Beach where I had never been before as the logical and direct route to Surat Tani is more inland. Not that this part of the coast is the most attractive one, the sheer presence of shrimp farms disallows for that. But it is definitely off that infamous beaten-track and once you are in one of the resorts right on the beach your view will predominantly go out to the sea anyway..... I wouldn´t stay here for more than one night but I definitely enjoyed that short stopover.

Farewell Sonsai Resort! I`ll be back, hoping the brown water will by then have turned blue again.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Nice surprise first thing in the morning. Not that the volume of vehicles would have asked for a separate track but it is always good to see the local authorities realize there are people around that are more vulnerable.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Being a keen fisherman myself I am always keen to learn. Probably my leg posture needs improvement...
Heart 3 Comment 0
This skilled woman down the road certainly knows what she is doing. She manufactures squid pots....
Heart 2 Comment 0
....many squit pots.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Waiting to take the pots out
Heart 5 Comment 0
I know it`s silly but I love those Middle-of-the-Road pics
Heart 4 Comment 0
Had Sawahn. I wonder whether anybody will clean up that mess later on. I doubt it...
Heart 2 Comment 0
Riding through palmoil plantations can be nice
Heart 3 Comment 0
Some highly attractive properties in the middle of these plantations.
Heart 4 Comment 0
And some good river-beaches too
Heart 2 Comment 0
Make sure you treat yourself with a Tom Yum Talay (spicy sour soup with mixed seafood) at the Maruay Potchana restaurant when cycling down this stretch. It looks good, it feels good, it tastes good!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Monkey in action.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Meanwhile the apprentices are eagerly awaiting their turn on the truck
Heart 1 Comment 0
No settlement anywhere near this Wat. It really makes you wonder who pays for those gorgeous temples.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Approaching Niyom Beach
Heart 2 Comment 0
Some of the bungalows of the Chanapon Resort. Khun Narong and his wife are lovely people and that reflects on the general appearance of the facility.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Plus they have their own beach too which is the only section being cleared of all the rubbish. Mind you when you turn round you would be looking at shrimp farms.....
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 km (33 miles)
Total: 592 km (368 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0