Rest days in Lamphun - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

December 13, 2017 to December 14, 2017

Rest days in Lamphun

Wed., Dec 13

Frustrating! And that´s not referring to the very slow internet here in my hotel. I left Germany with the first snow falls towards the lovely weather
of Northern Thailand. Now I find myself in bed with a cold and perfect cycling conditions outside. At least I tried to be sensible for a change and postponed any further exercise until I believe the whole respiratory system is clear again.

Thu., Dec 14

Somehow that seems to have happened last night. I managed to clear nostrils and bronchia and in succession found some good sleep immediately after. Whole different story on waking up again - I firmly believe I´ve been through the worst now. I will stay one more night here in Lamphun though and try to make sure the cold is finally gone.

So after some coffee I was off for nice walk along the river and then spent two hours in the Michelin awarded compound of Wat Phathat Hariphunchai.  Did I love my time in this breathtaking temple!  That´s why I will post quite a few photos of it too. Skip them if you are getting tired of seeing temples already but to me any single one is a feast for the eyes. All those bright colours in combination with the undoubted spiritual energy - certainly lifts my own spirits.

I was going to be back on earth less than half an hour later though!  When I returned to the hotel I decided to sit along the shady river promenade right in front of it and got into my Michael Robotham book. I had just started reading when the young receptionist started yelling out to me from the elevated entrance of the hotel. She was pointing to the wall on my right and then I saw the bright green snake. Quite a pretty creature actually. All the same I got a huge fright as it was less than 2m away.  I could have done with a cold beer after that little incident but as I have got heaps of medicine in me it was a mulberry tea instead. Yes, that´s as sad as it sounds.....

Despite the health issues I really enjoyed my days in sleepy Lamphun. Lampang should be my destination tomorrow, given my breathing capability keeps improving as there is definitely one obstacle in the way.

The lovely river promenade continues all the way along the town center. Just a shame about all that plastic litter.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ladies al fresco gym
Heart 0 Comment 0
The immaculate compound of Wat Phathat Hariphunchai
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ancestral gallery
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wat Phathat Hariphunchai
Heart 1 Comment 0
More dignitaries
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don´t think it will rain today
Heart 0 Comment 0
And fortunate again soon after as this snake seems to have swallowed a mouse or a bird just before. Are they venomous? 
Heart 1 Comment 1
Andrea BrownAhaetulla prasina, or whip snake, it is mildly venomous but not terribly dangerous to humans. Beautiful.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Only half the value as you cannot hear the thousands of birds going bonkers in those trees. Right next to this monument is the little food nightmarket by the way. Go at sundown to experience that bird spectacle with your dinner!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Definitely non-touristy. The vegetable wholesale market along the canal
Heart 1 Comment 0
An handful of those may have helped to get rid of my cough
Heart 1 Comment 0
I wish to finish my Lamphun post with one last shot from Wat Phathat Hariphunchai as the monks really do spice up a temple photo.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0