Rest days in Hat Chao Samran - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

March 17, 2018 to March 18, 2018

Rest days in Hat Chao Samran

I really do like Chao Samran Beach for several reasons:

- It is much cleaner than Laem Sing for instance

-You can actually swim as the beach is not as shallow as they are on the other side of the Gulf

-There is some surf to play with. Great for me as my left shoulder doesn´t allow any proper swimming anymore

-It is a "Thai beach". I explained before what that means to me: empty beaches; seafood restaurants but sunloungers and umbrellas; basically Thai people only.

Plus the little village itself has several inexpensive, authentic food options. While talking about the financial aspect again you may feel like I am putting too much focus on the money part while travelling this region. Trust me, I wouldn´t eat something or stay somewhere just because it is cheap! My intention is almost missionary: I wish to submit the pleasure of riding your bicycle here and having great food and accommodation at the same time. And as that whole package will not cost you more than 1000 Baht a day I am hoping I can convince some of you who have been hesitant so far to pack up your gear and jump on a plane...

The 1000 Baht per day counts if you are a single traveller and is by the way exactly what Bob believes he spends when cycling in Thailand. Sharing a room would make it even cheaper as you pay for the room and not per occupant. Your per diem in Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam might even be a touch less but none of these countries offers that perfect infrastructure-food/drink-accommodation package as Thailand. Mind you that´s Frank speaking! 

With all those positive aspects about being in Thailand there is one thing that I have always found difficult to deal with and it becomes most obvious in those weekend retreats: sleep of other people is not a very precious good  here. Noisy arrivals long after midnight, loud conversations, telephone calls and full blast TVs in the middle of the night are a very common thing and need to be accepted as you will find it anywhere in South East Asia. Mind you two reasons might make me more volatile to that issue: Due to my shoulder I am a very restless sleeper anyway and my animosity against airconditioning (=open windows) will have me more receptive towards any noise outside my room.

But this is only another minor issue and I am still thoroughly enjoying my two days of beach bumming. Here are the corresponding photos:

Mostly spelled Hat, sometimes Had - always a most enjoyable place to be at
Heart 3 Comment 0
Entirely by myself while on my morning run and swim
Heart 3 Comment 0
Living on a beach
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Entertainment for the adults....
Heart 3 Comment 0
....for the kids....
Heart 1 Comment 0
....and for all at the same time
Heart 1 Comment 1
Leo van NoortClothes on and rescue suit, you see it everywhere in S.A. Asia
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
But overall it really feels like this a fisherman´s beach with holiday makers being accepted. Love it!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
My favourite breakfast place in town, just around the corner from the 7eleven. Not only delicious choices from the buffet but an excellent noodle soup too. All I need for a good start into the day!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bruce LellmanAfter many trips to Thailand I finally realized that the best food is also the cheapest food. The huge variety of prepared foods in stainless steel trays is always cheap, delicious and authentically Thai. I love your food photos but I'm getting pretty jealous.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Bruce LellmanI couldnĀ“t agree more with you, Bruce. I had three different choices (one spoonful each) at the "buffet" place which came 3 x 10 Baht plus 5 for the khao suai. And it was delicious! Different thing in the evening when I love being in the beach restaurants to join the Thais. But even here cost is not an issue. Yes, you pay considerably moe than along the street but it is usually quality stuff: I am addicted to those three dishes (full portions!): grilled squid, clams, pad pak kana (Chinese kale) which I had with rice, fried egg, some broth and two soft drinks. The bill: 440 Baht. Nothing wrong with that I would say.....
Reply to this comment
6 years ago