Rest days in Ban Tong Tom - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

March 30, 2018 to April 2, 2018

Rest days in Ban Tong Tom

Inspiring places: The terrace of the Nakoa Rimlay Homestay
Heart 3 Comment 0

I feel embarrassed about all my sandfly-whinging: While here in Ban Tong Tom I learned that Geoff, my long-time Kiwi friend who lives on Samui, has been diagnosed with Dengue Fever and is in intensive care in a hospital in Northern Thailand. Difficult to continue with the sunny side of life but I hope my photos can at least provide you with some distraction. All fingers crossed for a speedy and comprehensive recovery, Geoff! 

Do you remember Belinda Carlisle´s song "Heaven is a place on earth"? It is indeed and I am staying there! According to her lyrics love comes first in heaven  whereas the Nakoa Rimlay Homestay patrons put the focus on seafood. And overwhelming hospitality! I am not a guest here, I am made to feel like being part of the extended family. They are really busy with large groups of Thai people who come here for either celebrations or work seminars. They do stay overnight then and as I have got room no.1 for myself they sleep in the remaining two (larger) rooms with up to 6 of them in each. And if the groups are even larger they do pitch those free standing mosquito tents on the terrace. Sounds like stress for other guests but is not anywhere close to that. The parties/seminars are conducted on the sheltered "pier" with the onshore wind taking the noise away from the actual house and I have not been woken up once by the other guests coming back up to the 1st floor accommodations. If you would have told me about the conditions I just described I would have declared: No way I am going to stay there. But I absolutely love it here. That´s very much owed to the outreaching nature of Siriphan ("Peed") and Komar but the discipline of the Thai people who do respect other people´s sleep has to be commended too.

So what have I been doing here all that time apart from eating, eating and eating? Nothing much at all really. A bit of swimming as you can jump into the crystal clear water from their pier without having to deal with the sandfly pest. And some reading on the lovely mountainside terrace. Did you write your song in Ban Tong Tom, Belinda?

Last but not least: Happy Easter to all of you!

The inviting entrance of the Nakoa Rimlay Homestay
Heart 3 Comment 0
The communal terrace on the mountainside...
Heart 3 Comment 0
...where I enjoyed watching the moon rise every night
Heart 4 Comment 0
In case of demand
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking at the pier
Heart 4 Comment 0
The pier
Heart 2 Comment 0
Ban Tong Tom
Heart 3 Comment 0
Frankie on the rocks
Heart 3 Comment 0
Siriphan`s "garden" leading to their huge terrace
Heart 5 Comment 0
Their neighbours fishing fleet....
Heart 4 Comment 0
.....who provide our daily dinner
Heart 1 Comment 0
Komar, who is of Chinese descent, cleaning his Dad´s tropical tomb
Heart 2 Comment 0
It´s dinner time again....
Heart 2 Comment 0
....and nothing here is done in small quantities
Heart 2 Comment 0
Post-dinner conversation with Sam, a good friend of the family
Heart 2 Comment 0
Every day Siriphan and Komar surprised me with a new homemade delicacy like this honey, produced by wild bees in the wooden frontage of their house.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Or tea made by the dried blossoms of their peas. Or their own crisps: dried leftover rice in a delicious chili dip
Heart 1 Comment 0
But the real sensation is her cooking. My Easter Sunday dinner: yellow fish curry; tofu and shrimp in oyster sauce with vegetables; a fish stock with whole squid and vegetables; a steak of those large fish I showed the other day.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Mind you the fish had to be bought from the fisherman next door as I was just bathing the bait....
Heart 2 Comment 0
Easter excursion to the Pak Nam Tako market
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along the #4011
Heart 1 Comment 0
I wish to dedicate this last photo, taken at Sai Ri Beach, to my wonderful hosts: Siriphan and Komar. Thank you very much for those most enjoyable 5 days!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0