Rest days at Hat Laem Sing - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

March 6, 2018 to March 8, 2018

Rest days at Hat Laem Sing

There is nothing else from Laem Sing I could show you but the beach. Because there is nothing else I did in Laem Sing than being on the beach. Or sitting in my beloved bungalow planning the rest of the trip......

I could leave it with this shot and you would possibly say: How nice!
Heart 4 Comment 0
But that would be "fake news" as I only had to turn around to look at this. Every flood brings in that amount of litter. I am not going at Hat Laem Sing as such. It is by no means their interest to have that stuff on their beach and ...
Heart 1 Comment 3
Leo van NoortIt is sad to see how the people deal with rubbish in Asia. Everything they throw on the street.....
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Leo van Noort...and into the sea. Once again I agree with your observations, Leo. As much as I love being here, this is one thing I do misprize! The unnecaessary use and disposal of plastic bags. They (Thai, Laotians, Cambodians, Vietnamese) buy their soup as takeaways and it comes in at least five plastic bags. How often have I seen those bags being thrown recklessly over to the side of the road....That counts for any sort of rubbish unfortunately. Makes me really angry! We are all living on this volatile planet....
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Leo van NoortTo Frank RoettgenSure, agree also ! So nice people, so friendly, so much respect. We can learn from them !
But the rubbish thing is really bad indeed.
Should it have to do with campaigns we have on television/radio about rubbish ?
They have not of course.
My parent teach me to through rubbish in a garbage bin. I think they don't teach their children this.
Also along the highway you found so much....
Enjoy your tour Frank, I really like to read your reports and see your pics !
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
....the resorts (here in front of mine).....
Heart 3 Comment 0
...and the municipality are trying hard to clean it up every single day. Don Quixote-effort! I remember there were a lot of news on the pollution of the oceans just before I left home last year but I guess you actually have to visualize the result to be able to relate to it properly
Heart 2 Comment 0
However, I love being here, doing my daily painful shoulder exercises on the beach accompanied by a little refreshment....
Heart 5 Comment 1
Leo van NoortCheers ! Leo Beer !
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
...or in my bungalow while talking to fellow cyclist Jacques from Namur/Belgium
Heart 3 Comment 0
I have been asked whether I do carry all my valuables (passport and credit cards in particular) around with me all the time. I don´t! I roll them up in my camp sack and lock it up to some less mobile item like my bike or a table. Good enough? I have never lost one single Baht/Riel/whatever since I have been cycling in South East Asia over the last 10 years+
Heart 2 Comment 0
I love these little stories: While I was still considering going into Bangkok and stay there for a few days I asked my friend Bob whether he could recommend a hotel. He could and when I checked the Krungkasem Srikrung Hotel on booking.com I thought: I believe I know this bike on their landing page. And it is indeed his! If I would have gone to stay there I would certainly have offered a considerable amount of Baht to have my Koga being featured instead. As I will very likely bypass Bangkok on the south now Bob and I are still friends.....
Heart 4 Comment 0
Talking about bypassing Bangkok on the south: Has anybody done this route and used the ferry over the Chao Phraya in Samut Prakan....
Heart 1 Comment 0
....continuing towards the Hway 4 on the other side similar to this suggestion? Would love to hear how it was and where you stayed
Heart 1 Comment 0

Addendum 7 March 2018:

I am just back from lunch in the Chaba Restaurant directly next to my own resort (and much better foodwise!) having made the decision to stay one more night here as the combination of a perfect bungalow, great food in barefoot walking distance and a very nice English run bar in town is as good as it gets for me. So four nights which should get me back into shape for the Bangkok cycling adventure...

The mandatory pad khapao talee in the front, the extremely no-kissing-please moo manao (pork loin with raw garlic in a lemongrass dressing)....
Heart 3 Comment 0
....followed by clams with two different dips. Divine!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Very nice Englishman running the pub and great company in fellow German Joachim plus Set from Sweden and Mike from Alaska, who are close friends since first meeting 40 years ago while backpacking...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0