Rest day in Chau Doc - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

February 10, 2018

Rest day in Chau Doc

I am really happy how things have developed over the last week. Pretty concerned when realizing in Kampong Cham that I was aiming for the wrong border crossing, followed by the nightmarish ride on the #11 resulting in an emergency change of route. Only to be followed by thrilling fallback stops in Phnom Penh, Takeo and now Chau Doc. I can only hope all my future bad plannings achieve such a positive result. Talking about plans: Must be the first time ever I don´t have one. I had a rough idea about my time in Vietnam but that has obviously become more or less obsolete. While I was sitting down at the waterfront today sipping innumerable glasses of the brilliant iced coffee I decided to mirror the 2017 route of my very good friends Ruth and Ute, just in reverse order. That would take me to Cao Lanh tomorrow.....

That´s talking future though. Today I am still thoroughly enjoying Chau Doc, an industrious city that appears extremely friendly, owing to the well kept waterfront and the multitude of florists on the medians and boardwalks. I really like being here! And I haven´t even mentioned the abundance of great food yet....

Chau Doc nursery
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The colourful entrance to the Chau Doc markets. Only outclassed by the clothing of the cone hat lady
Heart 4 Comment 0
The fermented fish stall. Even the flies avoided it...
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Chinese temples are preparing for their New Year celebrations starting next Friday. By the way, this temple is said to have the best mobile phone reception in Vietnam
Heart 2 Comment 0
This lady is preparing the delicious iced coffees. I spent so much money there today, might even buy her a new pair of jeans
Heart 2 Comment 1
Andrea BrownIt's addicting!
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
The typical setup of a Vietnamese cafe. This one even had a photo gallery attached to it. I believe I sat there for more than two hours. Loved it!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Chau Doc for you
Heart 3 Comment 0
And the Golden Coconut 2018 goes to....
Heart 2 Comment 0
This lovely lady was particularly proud of her plants
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The most unimpressive soup stalls tend to be the most impressive ones. The good thing in Vietnam is the fact they are using Latin script. You can actually read what they are offering. This one i.e. does fantastic....
Heart 3 Comment 0
Bun Suong (noodle soup with fish) and Chao Ca (semolina fish stew)
Heart 3 Comment 0
Big thing in Vietnam: Pickled veggies, accompanying basically any solid meal
Heart 0 Comment 0
If you believe you ever had better spring rolls you are simply wrong
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0