Day trip to Si Satchanalai Historical Park - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

December 21, 2017

Day trip to Si Satchanalai Historical Park

I love that feeling when you realize you made the right decision. I liked it when I was still at work and even more so nowadays. My original plan was to stay one night in the drive-thru town of Sawankhalok and stopover in Si Satcahanalai HP the following day while on my way up to Uttaradit. When I arrived here in the most admirable Chomjun The Long House Guesthouse (as its official name is) yesterday with the lovely landlord family declaring me part of the family that same night I changed my plan and decided to stay a second night and have a whole day in the Historical Park just up the road. And gosh did I enjoy my day today!

After some regular bike maintenance with a coffee first thing in the morning I rode up Hway 101 on the right side of the River Yom. Quite busy but a shoulder all the way until I crossed the river an hour
later. When I came to the Ticket Office of the Historical Park (100 Baht plus 10 for the bike) I was completely surprised. I was basically by myself and thought: Well, the tour groups probably do arrive later in the afternoon. They never came! I didn´t specifically count but I think I am right saying it was six visitors all together while I was there. And that was at least for 3 hours.

Si Satchanalai is - apart from Ayutthaya - the last of the big historical parks I haven´t been to yet and was always one of the few must-do´s on this trip. I know I am repeating myself but I can´t really describe how much I enjoyed my afternoon there. Absolutely immaculate compound and the only noise came either from the numerous birds or from the local staff mowing the lawns. After I had dropped my bike at the first temple I got my shoes off and walked barefooted except when I climbed up on of the temples themselves. Most delightful.

When I rolled back on the other side of the river along the 1201 into
Sawankhalok the little nightmarket had just openend and I saw these
two ladies barbequeing salted fish and I instantly knew what my evening would look like: fish and beer on the terrace of my beloved guesthouse. Come here if you are visiting the area!

Crossing the Yom River. Much wider than I would have thought!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stereotype South East Asia
Heart 0 Comment 0
I can only assume it´s a Thai cemetery just south of the Historical Park
Heart 0 Comment 0
I am slowly regaining fitness so I can offer a photo looking the other way too...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Si Satchanalai Historical Park: Wat Nang Phraya
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wat Chedi Chet Thaeo
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wat Chedi Chet Thaeo
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wat Chang Lom. You know a better place for a rest / picnic?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wat Chang Lom
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wat Khao Suwan Khiri
Heart 0 Comment 0
Back at the Chomjun Guesthouse. Mind you there are two aspects that might make you think different about the guesthouse than me: a) the mattresses are hard as concrete b) the house-dog and those from the neighbours can go absolute mental at night which WILL wake you up
Heart 0 Comment 0
My dinner. So much better than it looks!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 569 km (353 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0