Day 85: Kangar - Alor Setar - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

April 28, 2018

Day 85: Kangar - Alor Setar

Routing: #7 , R100, R152, 7

With only less than 60 km to go my focus was on the weather forecast, trying to stay dry if possible as my wounded crotch certainly doesn´t need any extra stress over those last few days. Meteoblue forecasted some heavy overnight rain passing away in the earlier morning hours followed by some new wet clouds around 2 pm. So that´s 5 hours of cycling in the dry and no need to race down Hway 7 but time to retrack my 2012 route right along the coast until Sanglang.

It was a bit cooler than it had been before yesterdays front moved in but the sun was out and the wind in full support again. Ideal conditions and despite the wound related pain I thoroughly enjoyed my ride today. Even the last few km on Hay 7 were fine as there is adecent shoulder and attractive flora. Both will not be found further down along that Malaysian west coast. Certainly the best part of it.

The Sentosa Regency Hotel (92 Ringgit/19 € on agoda) is right next to the CB Motel where I stayed in 2012 but I was keen to have a bit more luxury in my current condition. Coleen and Chris had spent a lazy morning in their Kangar hotel and we met for dinner in the Nasi Kandar right next to my accommodation followed by some late sightseeing. Good day!

As I was too tired last night here is some first information regarding Malaysia:

Money: When I was in Cambodia the Malaysian Maybank was the only one that didn´t charge the 5 USD withdrawal fee on visa cards. So I walked straight towards one of their ATMs assuming it would be the same in their home country. This assumption was correct but I cannot tell you whether other banks would charge or Malaysia is generally free of any additional fees.

Tourism tax: The most annoying change since I visited the country last! Since September 2017 the hotels will collect 10 MYR (2.50 €) tourist tax per room per night on top of the normal 6% included in your room charge.

SIM Card: Right opposite the History Hotel in Kangar is the "Tatcom" phone shop where a very friendly young man with excellent English advised me to get a 10 Ringgit Hotlink RED sim card and add an extra 5 MYR which would buy me 7 days / 1.5 gb 4G internet. I actually bought 3 gb (total: 25 MYR) as I learned in 2012 the hotel wifi connections are often very, very slow. 

Along the #R100
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sea mosque in Kuala Perlis
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
That´s what the buffets in the self service restaurants look like. You will pay per "spoonful", a meat or fish curry usually being 3 MYR (70 euro cents)
Heart 3 Comment 0
This was my choice: Roti Canai on the left (crispy flatbread with a curry dip); teh tarik (sweet milk tea); and the main, here two curries and some omelette. The whole added up to 14.50 Ringgit / 3 €
Heart 2 Comment 0
Right on the sea along the #R152
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Malaysia is having the general elections this weekend and the flags of the parties actually make for some attractive sights
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nothing wrong with Hway 7
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sultan Muhammad V
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
11 km before Alor Setar it became even better
Heart 3 Comment 0
Alor Setar
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Zahir Mosque
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of the numerous Chinese food courts
Heart 5 Comment 0
Kangar - Alor Setar
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 km (35 miles)
Total: 6,266 km (3,891 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0