Day 83: Songkhla - Hat Yai - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

April 23, 2018 to April 24, 2018

Day 83: Songkhla - Hat Yai

Routing: along Thale Sap, #414

I will keep this entry as short as the ride itself. Nice start along the Thale Sap, then just 15 km along the rather boring #414 spiced up by a strong wind right in my back firing me down to the turnoff for Hat Yai in less than 30 minutes. I´d love to have more of that on the longer stages towards Penang!

We are staying in three different hotels: Andrew and myself in the worn but clean Tanaphat Hatyai Hotel (485 B, agoda - make sure you ask for a room with the new ac devices!); Bob in the Grand Pink Hotel and Coleen/Chris booked themselves into the brand new V. Ocean Palace at 620 B. They really enjoyed Songkhla and their hotel so decided to have their rest day up there and will be arriving here in Hat Yai this afternoon for a last dinner with the full group.

I really like Hat Yai, laid back with plenty of excellent food options but almost zero photo opportunities. Doesn´t bother me as it makes it easier to be resting in my hotel as I have to get rid of that nasty crotch injury. I saw a doctor about it last night and he recommended to stop cycling. Or use iodine for infection prevention. The latter is my choice and it seems to work - it´s more uncomfortable than a real concern anyway. 

Into Malaysia tomorrow with the group headed for Penang being reduced to three as Andrew will proceed slowly back towards Bangkok and Bob will leave us at the border. 

The famous pigtail soup, cooked and served in a small restaurant right next to Coleen/Chris´s hotel
Heart 1 Comment 0
Colourful Songkhla old town
Heart 2 Comment 0
The lovely little maritime museum in Songkhla
Heart 2 Comment 0
After approx. 50 selfies with a Malaysian tourist group I got one photo too
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another nice little Songkhla museum, honouring the late king
Heart 3 Comment 0
Burn out
Heart 3 Comment 0
Our house in the middle of the lake...
Heart 2 Comment 0
You will find these Cafe Amazons attached to the PTT petrol stations and they are always a green refuge from the highways and the heat
Heart 2 Comment 0
I believe I should have at least one photo from Hat Yai. So take this
Heart 2 Comment 0
A last common seafood dinner in Hat Yai as we will go three separate ways from tomorrow
Heart 3 Comment 0
Songkhla - Hat Yai
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 km (21 miles)
Total: 6,109 km (3,794 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0