Day 8: Chat Trakan - Dan Sai - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

December 24, 2017

Day 8: Chat Trakan - Dan Sai

Routing: #1143, 2013

No pics from Chat Trakan? No, there is nothing to be photographed. And this is not a complaint. Exactly my place - just and only Thai with one positive aspect being the genuine food for instance - anything I had was delicious and inexpensive at the same time. Apart from feeding myself well I went through the time consuming chore of washing all of my clothes. I could certainly give the stuff away to some dry cleaners for little money but I have had the functional cycle wear maltreated several times before and that is one thing entirely inacceptable. 

The next important task while in Chat Trakan was to find a competent pharmacy as that annoying cough had never completely disappeared. I was really fortunate to find a female pharmacist who spoke decent English and gave me exactly the right drugs as I believe. Well I woke up this morning with free nostrils and no coughing. Unheard of over the last two weeks! Hills to Loei - I am coming! And they were coming....

Lovely, moderately undulated ride along mostly natural bush for the first 35 km to Nakhon Thai. Here the 1143 merges with the 2013 running north towards Dan Sai. And that meant straight into the strong northeasterly blowing down the road from the mountains. If I would be at full strength I would probably have enjoyed the next terraced 50 km to Dan Sai but my legs are simply not good enough for the demanding combination of up-the-hill against the wind yet. As you will see on the chart below it becomes slowly more difficult with a beast of a hill waiting 15 km before Dan Sai. 7 km up with the first section being particularly tough. Once up at the top it is an extremely enjoyable last 8 km into town though. Exactly the reward you look for after all the effort on the way up here. 

Dan Sai itself? One night is more than enough. I picked the Dansai Resort
at 300 B for a room for one sole reason: It is away from the main
street. Not more and not less - neither a recommendation nor a do not
go. Decent if worn rooms, good wifi. Not a bad Christmas Eve at all!

The daily temple
Heart 1 Comment 0
That early morning mist definitely generates some magic
Heart 0 Comment 0
The 1143
Heart 1 Comment 0
Along the 1143
Heart 3 Comment 0
Just guessing: dragonfruit plantation?
Heart 0 Comment 1
What does not kill me makes me stronger..... The idea of going the other way is very charming though
Heart 0 Comment 0
Seeking shelter from the brutal headwind behind those piles of jasmine rice. The young manager taking the photo offered me to pitch my tent in their storage hall but I had only done 50 km and was still feeling strong
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cow-boy and his girls
Heart 0 Comment 0
The rooms at the Dansai Resort
Heart 1 Comment 0
Chat Trakan - Dan Sai
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 81 km (50 miles)
Total: 760 km (472 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0