Day 79: Nakhon Si Thammarat - Thung Song - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

April 19, 2018

Day 79: Nakhon Si Thammarat - Thung Song

Routing: #4016, 4015, 4014

I had three options getting to Thung Song and the one I picked is the longest, the most challenging but certainly the nicest ride too. You will see from the chart below there is one real climb right in the middle, about 2 km long and quiet steep. Still nothing you would write a book about but in this extreme heat (felt temperature 40 C today) I found it very difficult getting up to the top and had an extended rest at the little temple compound. I would always pick that same route again though. It is a tropical ride once you are on the #4015 with a couple of National Parks on the way. There are a lot of plantations (rubber in particular) too but it never becomes monotonous or boring. I liked the last bit along the #4014 best, even though there was more sweat generated due to permanent undulations.

Before my departure I had to deal with an unpleasant result of the heat rides over the last few days though. I lost some skin in the crotch area and the open wound of the size of a finger nail gives me a lot of uncomfort when riding and sweating again. I am very surprised this still happened after more than 4 months in the saddle but that´s obviously another lesson learnt: the cortisone cream does not only help against sandfly bites.

Back to a far more appetizing topic, Thung Song and its vast array of excellent food. I came here first in 2012 and had never heard of the place. I stayed in a rather modest hotel but still liked the town due to the great food options I had at night. This time I booked myself into the friendly Sino @Thungsong Hotel (460 B through agoda) and had an even better time. For some reason I had a lot of mosquitoes in my  ac room but would not blame the hotel staff but the person who was in the room before me I guess. I really like Thung Song and I find it difficult bringing it to a point why that is. I mentioned the food situation above but the town itself has got that pleasant vibe too. Very relaxed, genuinely Thai.

But in the very end it is just the day before! An Aussie, a Californian,two Singaporeans and a German meet in Trang..... Sounds like the start of a bad joke but should become the very highlight of this whole trip. I have been talking about it several times and tomorrow I will meet all those "veterans" of cyclo touring. Can´t wait!

Approaching Lan Saka. I always wanted to ask what that popular fruit in front of the stall is called...
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanThese are a different type of coconuts I believe. We had them in Cambodia and as I remember they were like little gourmet coconuts, the meat of which is thin, soft and excellent flavor.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Bruce LellmanThanks, Bruce. I have to try some then!
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Finally I found some carbohydrate snack I do enjoy eating while riding. As odd as it looks but those toasted ham and cheese sandwiches from -what else- the 7eleven shops help me getting through the currently tough days
Heart 2 Comment 0
Leaving Lan Saka with the National Park ahead
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was getting a bit concerned when this massive bull came walking towards me in quick march....
Heart 2 Comment 0
...but in the end he just wanted a scratch of the neck. Any Spaniards reading this? Good enough to qualify as a torrero?
Heart 4 Comment 0
Khao Luang National Park
Heart 3 Comment 0
The aforementioned climb....
Heart 5 Comment 0
...and the temple on the top
Heart 1 Comment 0
Along the #4014
Heart 1 Comment 0
I could have done with some of that shade too
Heart 1 Comment 0
Thung Song
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Sino @ Thungsong Hotel
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nakhon ST - Thung Song
Heart 0 Comment 0
Altitude NST - Thung Song
Heart 0 Comment 3
Mike AylingFrankie
What mapping software did you use to show the altitude profile?

Mike
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Mike AylingHi Mike, it´s a free site set up by a Swiss Engineering Office: http://geo.ebp.ch/gelaendeprofil/

As it is in German language some quick handling advice:
The site will open with two waypoints in Switzerland. Click the "Neu starten..." button to delete them. Then go to the right and set "Art der Route" auf Autoroute. Now put your start and finish point into the search box. You will get the normal google maps result (which you can alter by pulling the route) and below the altitude chart. I do screenshots (windows + print) and cut them with picasa. Done!
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Mike AylingFrankie

Thanks for the information.

Mike
Reply to this comment
6 years ago

Today's ride: 70 km (43 miles)
Total: 5,832 km (3,622 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Bruce LellmanPlease say hello to Colleen and Chris from Singapore from us. We enjoyed meeting them and riding with them for two days from Chiang Dao to Arunothai and beyond, (straight north of Chiang Mai). Nice people.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Bruce LellmanDone at dinner last night. Same back to you and Andrea
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Chris WeeTo Bruce LellmanHey Bruce and Andrea,
Thanks for the kind words. We're having a sizzling time the past 4 days and I mean temps from 37 to 41 C. It takes so much energy out of us but we push on. Then there's the infernal headwinds. Ah well. The goal is Penang where good food awaits.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago