Day 73: Pak Nam Lang Suan - Pak Nam Tha Krachai - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

April 4, 2018

Day 73: Pak Nam Lang Suan - Pak Nam Tha Krachai

Routing: #4019, 4112

Another glorious day of cycling along this -to me- most beautiful part of Thailand for our way of travelling. Very quiet rural roads, mostly directly along the sea. Almost identical to yesterday´s ride and when you see the photos you may think: "Oohh, haven´t we seen the same stuff yesterday? And the day before?" No, you haven´t but I understand it is a different perspective whether you are sitting in front of a computer or riding your bike along here. For me this could be "repeated" every single day! The last seven days or so on the bike have by far exceeded my expectations despite knowing the route well from previous rides and despite the extremely humid conditions. If those pesky sandflies were not spoiling my afternoons on the beach I would have taken even more time before going into Surat Thani.

As it is I will only spend one night here in the small Muslim village of Ban Pak Nam Tha Krachai. I was actually aiming for another place a bit further down the coast (Samret Inn) but when I came to the intersection where I would have turned right for it I saw that small Police post in the middle of nowhere. I knew instantly what that means - there must be a Muslim community nearby. So I stopped and checked google maps where my assumption got confirmed. As the village had one accommodation shown I decided to have a look. Since I was injured in that bomb explosion in the Yala Province in 2012 I have avoided any visits to Muslim populated areas in Thailand. Time to get over this phobia! I couldn´t find the place shown on google maps but the very friendly locals directed me to the Nasiri Resort down at the beach. A nice bungalow in the first row with just the brand new road between resort and beach. This new road construction has left the resort a bit in disorder too but my bungalow is absolutely clean and well worth the 400 Baht. Mind you no hot water (not necesaary at the moment anyway) and no wifi. Still delighted with my choice but as I have no interest in spending time on the beach I will ride into Surat Thani tomorrow and stay three nights in that my favourite town in Southern Thailand.

The typical morning scenario at the moment: The sun slowly burns the overnight clouds away and it will be another very humid day
Heart 4 Comment 0
Leaving Pak Nam Lang Suan
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
The #4019, once again declared a Scenic Route
Heart 3 Comment 0
Boat repair works in inspiring environment
Heart 3 Comment 0
Further down the #4019
Heart 3 Comment 0
Very low tide
Heart 2 Comment 0
And this little bowl really made my day. Foodwise there is not much happening along the #4019 but exactly at km 18.7 I spotted that soup stall on my right and if I would be asked what four ingredients I would like to have in my kwoi tiau I would answer: squid, minced fishballs (lo chin phla), lean pork and liver. And this lady added exactly those as a routine. Divine!
Heart 3 Comment 0
And that´s the stall looking back up the #4019. There is a large blue property on the other side. Don´t go past!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Probably the most idyllic of them all: Tawanchai Beach
Heart 4 Comment 0
I must have taken a wrong turn...
Heart 4 Comment 0
...soon after taking me into this cul-de-sea
Heart 4 Comment 0
My bungalow at the Nasiri Resort
Heart 3 Comment 0
The beach restaurant right in front of the resort
Heart 3 Comment 0
Pak Nam Lang Suan - Pak Nam Tha Krachai
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 km (35 miles)
Total: 5,460 km (3,391 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0