Day 72: Ban Tong Tom - Pak Nam Lang Suan - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

April 3, 2018

Day 72: Ban Tong Tom - Pak Nam Lang Suan

Routing: #4011, 4198, 4012

I believe this extended break including the family-like environment was overdue after 4 months of pedalling, predominantly on my own. I was really sad leaving again but there couldn´t have been a nicer route ahead of me than the 46 km to Pak Nam Lang Suan. As nice and quiet (trafficwise) as it gets! I was enjoying the cycling so much I did actually consider going a bit further but the extreme humidity and the fact that I still have 3 days until I wish to be in Surat Thani prevented me from doing so.

I would have loved to stay in the Thai-only-script resort that Jan has been to twice but couldn´t locate it. I had read from other cyclists who stayed in the 99 Resort just north of "town" and decided it was good enough for one night. It´s a large, slightly run-down compound with various types of accommodation, the bungalows on the southern end probably being the most attractive option at 700 / 600 Baht. Their disadvantage: they are standing sidewise to the beach and the breeze has got only limited access to their terraces. Different to room no.7 that I picked. It opens up towards the sea offering a full view as well. Quite happy with my choice, I was just a bit disappointed with the rather bland food I had. This problem was definitely solved in the late afternoon when I walked into town along the beach.

Let me finish off my time in Ban Tong Tom with a photo from last night´s BBQ. I was keen to say Thank you to Siriphan, Komar and all their family and friends who made me so welcome over the last few days and asked them to come around for dinner. What you see is about half of the stuff we got from Komar´s cousin and you would not believe the quality of the stuff, the crabs and king prawns in particular. Beforehand I was taught by Siriphan how she prepares her delightful seafood chili dip. The video has been posted on youtube: https://youtu.be/B1dcsBim6_I
Heart 3 Comment 0
Farewell Nakoa Rimlay Homestay!
Heart 5 Comment 0
And hopefully the last post on the sandfly issue too: My personal treatment that did help against that terrible itch: cortisone cream (applied before going to bed, Hydrocortisone 1%, Chlorocresol 0.15%, recommended by a pharmacist) and herbal ointment (daytime application, recommended by a Ban Tong Tom fisherman)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Along the #4011
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along the #4011. A fishing village opposite the Prince Chumphon shrine
Heart 4 Comment 0
The #4011 is declared a Scenic Route and fair enough too
Heart 2 Comment 0
Arunothai Beach
Heart 3 Comment 0
Escaping from the brutal heat/humidity for a short while
Heart 4 Comment 0
Not bad either: the #4198
Heart 2 Comment 0
Simple but delicious beach lunch along the #4198
Heart 2 Comment 0
Along the #4198
Heart 2 Comment 0
Fishermans rest
Heart 2 Comment 0
And last but by no means least the #4012
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of the dozens of deserted beaches along this last section
Heart 3 Comment 0
Along the #4012
Heart 3 Comment 0
My room, maximum privacy due to the misalignment
Heart 3 Comment 0
And my 500 Baht view
Heart 3 Comment 0
The restaurant of the 99 Resort. It´s a rocky access to the beach
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pak Nam Lang Suan beach soccer tournament in front of the concrete ship model
Heart 2 Comment 0
Ban Tong Tom - Pak Nam Lang Suan
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 km (29 miles)
Total: 5,403 km (3,355 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0