Day 69: Sananwan Beach - Thung Wua Laen Beach - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

March 27, 2018

Day 69: Sananwan Beach - Thung Wua Laen Beach

Routing: #1015, 4015, 3253, 3201

As much as I liked my two nights on Sananwan Beach, there is one considerable negative aspect: sandflies. They are a real pest, as they were up on Hat Chao Samran and in Ban Krut by the way. I tried hard (long pants and sleeves from the afternoon on; DEET spray even at daytime) but nothing helped. I have got swallen feet and ankles from the bites and the itch is just horrible. This and the persistent onshore headwind were the only complaints today. The ride itself has always been one of my very favourites, with only the section along the palm oil plantations on #3253 falling a bit behind. The rest is a fantastic run along various beaches and fishing villages. I spare you the details of the roads taken, it really is very easy navigation if you do follow the signs for Chumphon.

I would have happily stayed on Hat Bo Mao a bit up the coast again ( as I did in 2012) but I do like Hat Thung Wua Laen not only a touch better but anticipating my next stop would be Tong Tom Beach this makes it about half way. I booked the Albatross Guesthouse through agoda for the simple reason that one of my discount vouchers was coming to the end of its validity. That´s how the funny price of 363 Baht came up. I guess it would normally be 400 Baht and the fan rooms with balcony about 500 m away from the beach are well worth that money.

Great start along the #1015
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rice soup with fish at the most southern of the restaurants along Bang Burd (aka Bang Boet) Beach
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Noen Sai Chumphon sand dune, Thailand´s most distinct one
Heart 1 Comment 0
Amazing fruit on that bush. Does anybody know what it is called?
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bob MageeLooks like grapefruit.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Tham Thong-Bang Boet
Heart 3 Comment 0
The #4015, also named Scenic Route 2021
Heart 3 Comment 0
Overlooking Thung Maha Bay from Wat Kaeo Prasert
Heart 3 Comment 0
Looking back along the #4015 where I just came from
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The nicer part of the #3253
Heart 2 Comment 0
They showed taste in my lunch-stop restaurant: The bathroom frog matches with the tiles
Heart 3 Comment 0
But their pad khapao talay had as much taste
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hat Bo Mao. There are several nice bungalow resorts along this bay
Heart 3 Comment 0
For some reason this reminds me of the very dark period in Germany´s recent history
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hat Thung Wua Laen
Heart 4 Comment 0
They are asking to submit photos referring to their 2018 slogan.....
Heart 1 Comment 0
.....and here is my contribution
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sananwan Beach - Thung Wua Laen Beach
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 82 km (51 miles)
Total: 5,269 km (3,272 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Chris WeeSorry to hear abt the sandflies. I was scratching myself silly last Jan when I got attacked in the mountains of Mae Kampong 60 km from Chiangmai.

Just a few minutes outdoors while having breakfast was all it took. The guesthouse had piles of sand as they were making their own bricks. The owner came by with some repellant spray but it was too late.

About 30 bites on ankles n elbows.
Went to pharmacy in Lampang. Diagnosis. 'It is seeevere'. (severe)
Apparently placing ice on the bites brings some relief.

Man.....3 to 4 weeks of itching.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Chris WeeExactly, Chris. That´s the next nasty thing about sandflies: Their itch has got extended "expiration date". I think I found almost the perfect treatment here: cortisone cream at night and some herbal stuff (similar to Tiger balm, suggested by a fisherman here in Ban Tong Tom) at daytime. Will post a photo of the two soon as I honestly believe it is almost ideal and I will have it "onboard" from now on
Reply to this comment
6 years ago