Day 6: Thoen - Sawankhalok - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

December 20, 2017

Day 6: Thoen - Sawankhalok

What- a - great - day! From A to Z. Hang on, H for headwind excluded.
Which was really only a minor issue today though. My plan was to go
only as far as Thung Saliam, a section I had already done in 2010. I
knew there was just one climb in the early stages but then nothing
much more. So happy to leave the thumbs-down hotel with long sleeves
on, knowing the sun would quickly bring the temperatures up to ideal
cycling conditions at 25 C.

The 1048 starts off with some rolling undulations but the one and only
"real" climb is waiting for you at 5.5 km. It´s actually three uphill sequences in succession which makes it easier as you get a chance to recover inbetween. Nothing really serious anyway but me - still being far away from full capacity- was full of respect approaching these coming 5 km. The first two terraces are quite steep; the third one is a bit longer but more moderate in gradient. I was surprised how well I got up there and at the top is a lovely little rest area waiting, set up by a Thai gentleman who keeps several animals right next to the road. Boar in particular. He was not amused when I pointed to them, rubbed my stomach and said "Pad Pik
Gaeng Moo". I realized and apologized immediately and - typically Thai - he gave me a bucket full of stuff to feed the pigs.

The following 50 km towards Thung Saliam are not necessarily a walkover.
It´s rolling countryside and - remember letter H - the headwind didn´t make it easier at all. It´s generally a stable northern wind pattern at the moment but that valley running from west to east seems to channel the wind. I experienced that same phenomenon in 2010. Just before I got to Thung Saliam I came over one edge telling me I was entering the jurisdiction of TS Police. That was it with rolling topography. Done! After the summit of that last undulation the plains of TS open, entirely dedicated to rice cultivation. Sounds boring? It isn´t! It actually made me continue despite my tired legs. The rice paddies are buzzing with activity and to me that´s textbook South East Asia in the very best meaning of the word. Delightful cycling despite the wind coming straight from the North
which meant in a 90 degree angle from the left. I guess you know that
scenario - if the road would turn just 2 degrees to the right it would be blowing you down the road. But it never did. Just the opposite. Any curve was towards the left except 5 km before Sawankhalok but then it didn´t really matter anymore.

Why did I pick Sawankhalok while Sukhotai is just down the road and Si
Satchanalai even closer to the North of this town? Exactly because of that! Both cities attached to these historical parks will be buzzing with tourists and I thought: Why would anybody stay in Sawankhalok? And my plan turned out to become reality! I love being right but I was of course lucky too finding the Chomjun Guesthouse on google.maps. My first stop and the family running the place are jewels. Such very. very nice people who made me feel like being at home from minute one. More about it and the reason why I will be staying here two nights tomorrow... 

PS. Did I say it was a great day?

You will be climbing out of Thoen! This is only after terrace no. 1
Heart 0 Comment 0
They do like appetizing though, don´t they?
Heart 0 Comment 0
But then again....
Heart 1 Comment 0
New banana plantation along the 1048
Heart 0 Comment 0
1048 - the road itself
Heart 0 Comment 0
And then all the sudden in the middle of nowhere one of the nicest cafes I have ever come across
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was actually so nice I decided to have a lasting personal memory and test my new gorilla pod at the same time. It almost looks like a casual shot, doesn´t it? Bob, Chris - no comments please! There is one more coming for you at the end.....
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Thai can make 9 km look very short....
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Right in front of my room at the Chomjun Guesthouse
Heart 1 Comment 0
And a less pleasant view looking the other way
Heart 0 Comment 1
Chris WeeWhat a tough life !
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Thoen - Sawankhalok
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 95 km (59 miles)
Total: 524 km (325 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0