Day 59: Hat Laem Sing - Klaeng - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

March 9, 2018

Day 59: Hat Laem Sing - Klaeng

Routing: #4036

I definitely had a great time in Laem Sing but after three full days on the beach I was itchy to get rolling again. Not a start into the day I would have asked for though: I woke up to torrential rainfall hammering down on the roof of my bungalow. Meteoblue forecasted the heavy downpours would clear away after 8 am while the clouds and some occasional showers would remain in the area all day.  The rain itself is not a big deal as such - the spray from the overtaking vehicles is what handicaps me as I have to wear prescription lenses. No problem today though as Meteoblue was right almost down to the minute and the roads here dry up very fast. The remaining overcast conditions were actually perfect for cycling as the humidity of the last few days had been unbearable and that low pressure front had brought the temperature down to delightful 28 degrees C. The only downside: This beautiful part of the world shines brighter when the sun is out and I would have loved to come home with some more colourful photos. Never mind, reason to come back!

The Scenic Route 4036 does start right at Laem Sing Beach and is not only a wonderful ride as such but has got a continuous shoulder which is designated as a bicycle lane. I absolutely loved the first half of the day, once the road turns more inland after Kung Wiman Beach it is not that attractive anymore but still remains an enjoyable ride all the way up to Klaeng.

No fuss about finding a place to stay in Klaeng. I rolled down to the intersection #3/344 where I will go up towards Chonburi tomorrow. Just before the turnoff the colourful facade of the Klaeng Palace Hotel caught my attention and I am more than happy with my clean,fully equipped ac-rom for 400 Baht. And I do like Klaeng itself. South of Hway 3 you will find a lot of the old wooden shophouses along the various market squares. Attractive little town it is.  

Looking back towards Laem Sing from the other side of the bridge.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
That´s how Thai people enjoy their day on the beach....
Heart 2 Comment 0
...or taking selfies
Heart 0 Comment 0
I really liked this central part of Hat Chao Lao and will certainly consider staying here next time. Plenty of inexpensive accommodation, restaurants and whatever you expect from a beach resort on this long stretch
Heart 1 Comment 0
I can´t imagine this intensive shell farming doesn´t do any damage to the mangrove forests
Heart 1 Comment 0
As green as it gets
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Finally! My first sweet sticky rice with mango
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Klaeng Palace Hotel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Klaeng
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The dancing nurses of Klaeng Hospital. Charity would be the only excuse for this performance
Heart 3 Comment 0
Hat Laem Sing - Klaeng
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 74 km (46 miles)
Total: 4,560 km (2,832 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0