Day 55: Trapeang Rung - Koh Kong - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

February 28, 2018 to March 1, 2018

Day 55: Trapeang Rung - Koh Kong

Routing: #48

I could really copy and paste the narrative from yesterday. Another great but even slightly more difficult day with the postive aspects - almost no traffic in particular - clearly dominating once again. All the same I have got no idea how I managed to do those 140 km from Srae Ambel to Koh Kong in one day 6 years ago. I guess it was not as hot as it is now, I was super-fit then eager to escape the loneliness of the #48. Different story with Milan´s company today. We had plenty of drink and food stops, the last one down in Tatai knowing the last 20 km would have another two climbs and a couple of nasty undulations waiting for us. We still made it into Koh Kong just after noon which was good for Milan as he needs to leave the country today due to his visa expiring. So we bid farewell after a last coffee which was a bit sad really. After all those years it still keeps amazing me how quickly you do get close when choosing this demanding way of travelling.

I had a recommendation for the 99 Guesthouse in Koh Kong hoping it would be as good as the grumpy Welshman we met on the #48 had said. And it is indeed! 8 US$ for a nice and very clean fan room with a lovely family running the place. They do have three corner rooms with three windows (B, C and D.01) for 9 US$ too  and as one of them is available tomorrow I will stay for two nights, get all my washing done and have some of the rest I am longing for. But staying two nights here is no emergency solution at all. Apart from having the company of Leigh and Janet, a cycling couple from Australia and Hong Kong, I always liked the laid back atmosphere of this border and fishing town. To me it hasn´t changed at all over the last few years and provides me with a good end to a sometimes disappointing time of cycling in Cambodia.

Well deserved after all the dust I have swallowed, isn´t it?
Heart 3 Comment 0
I wonder whether the relaxed young man from Berlin would loose some of his contenance if an elephant would actually break through the bushes.....
Heart 4 Comment 0
AC Milan has taken the lead....
Heart 0 Comment 0
...while Frankie goes to....enjoy his slipstream
Heart 3 Comment 0
Climbing can be nice!
Heart 2 Comment 0
In particular when you get a bit of a visual reward at the summit
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tatai
Heart 3 Comment 0
The last five flat kilometers!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Koh Kong. Not perfect is perfect to me
Heart 3 Comment 0
I really like it when you can sit at the waterfront without it being too posh. Koh Kong is good at that
Heart 3 Comment 0
I will be leaving Cambodia over this bridge in the background tomorrow (March 2)
Heart 2 Comment 0
Trapeang Rung - Koh Kong
Heart 0 Comment 0
Altitude Trapeang Rung - Koh Kong. Tatai is down just before the 40 km mark and the last bit is extremely demanding because for some reason you tend to believe you are done. I fell into this trap twice now
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 4,315 km (2,680 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0