Day 53: Veal Renh - Srae Ambel - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

February 26, 2018

Day 53: Veal Renh - Srae Ambel

Routing: # 4, 48

I counted every single kilometer down to the turnoff for Srae Ambel as I knew from my ride in 2012 it was going to be an entirely different world of cycling once there. Until there: the same horrible ride like going down to Sihanoukville two days ago with one important difference - the gravel on the side was a bit firmer and allowed to cycle on it. Still revolting two and a half hours and I was so immensly happy when getting to the intersection with the #48 - you wouldn´t believe it! Knowing there are another very difficult two days ahead of me but that´s up to the terrain and the heat and not about being concerned about my wellbeing.

Easy last 13 km into Srae Ambel where I directly headed for the 168 Guesthouse where I already stayed in 2012. I like this place! An old wooden building with basic but clean rooms for 5 US$. The same family runs the restaurant directly opposite as well and while I was sitting with my first birthday beer I couldn´t believe my eyes! A young man on a fully loaded bicycle stopped in front of the guesthouse and when he took his cycle boots off before being lead the rooms I knew we were going to get on well. Milan from Berlin is on a gap year before he commences his studies and cycled down here from Hanoi. My very first impression turned out to be correct - an extremely plaesant young man and we very quickly decided to do the next two days towards the Thai border together. Once again a nice end to a rather unplesant day of cycling in Cambodia.

While I was having a pre-departure coffee in the cafe opposite my guesthouse in Veal Renh I was addressed by local community policing officer Hem about my wellbeing in her area of responsibilty. Thank you very much for your concern Hem and please accept some of the badges I have been carrying around for more than 4000 km now...
Heart 3 Comment 0
Highway 4
Heart 2 Comment 0
Srae Ambel Primary School
Heart 5 Comment 0
The 168 Guesthouse
Heart 3 Comment 0
My room on the right and the attached balcony
Heart 2 Comment 0
Milan happily presenting his repaired cycle boot. The cleat had broken out but we managed to fix it with cutting a piece from an empty can of Angkor beer. Will be needed for the difficult terrain on the way to the Thai border!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Veal Renh - Srae Ambel
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 km (32 miles)
Total: 4,175 km (2,593 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0