Day 40: Takeo - Chau Doc (1st day in VIETNAM) - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

February 9, 2018

Day 40: Takeo - Chau Doc (1st day in VIETNAM)

Routing: #2, QLN 1, QL 91

I believe when I crossed from Thailand into Laos I said these border crossing days are usually nothing else but a transit stage. Little excitement on the road, sometimes getting hassled at the immigration check points. Quite the opposite today! I had a delightful day, both on the bike and receiving my exit / entry stamps.

Highway 2 shows its pretty face all the way from Takeo down to the border. Wide shoulder, smooth surface, little dust and the scenery becomes greener and greener the further south you get. I really enjoyed these 50 km down to the immigration facilities. I had read from fellow cyclists who were made waiting for ages on the Cambodian as well as on the Vietnames side. Not me! It took me exactly 20 minutes until I took my first photo on Vietnamese soil. I was certainly lucky I was the only one needing a visa among the very few other local commuters and having applied for that at home certainly helped to speed up the process. First bonus point for Vietnam, plenty more to come soon after.

I was in need for some water and decided to have a look at Tinh Bien at the same time. Checking my map I realized there is a small alternative route towards Chau Doc along the canal. When I turned right in the town center onto that road I spotted a small shop selling drinks. I asked the lady how much a large bottle of water would be (10000 dong) but she had to call her two children as she didn´t speak any English. When I left again after 45 minutes I had been guided to a nice little restaurant next door and - more importantly - was in posession of a Viettel sim card, giving me 2 gb data volume per day over 30 days plus 50 minutes calling time for the very modest amount of 140000 dong (5 € / 6 US$). I understand that plan is called "Kit Tomato".

My good run continued along the canal but mind you there are clear indications for upcoming roadworks, very likely width extension. Getting into Chau Doc I was instantly impressed by the atmosphere. Exactly what I was expecting from coming here: Buzzing with trade activities on and off the river. It took me another 30 minutes to find an accommodation that suited me but I am delighted with what I got in the end: The 3rd floor room in the Thanh Ha Guesthouse has got a fridge, aircon or fan as I wish, full pressure hot shower and a large communal balcony towards the city. All that for just 200000 dong(7€). So I will have a couple of nights here to get myself familiar with the country.

A typical Cambodian roadside restaurant, conveniently loacted right opposite the Nita Guesthouse. Their dishes of the day are in those pots - you lift the lid and decide which one you want. Very often thinly sliced meat with various vegetables
Heart 3 Comment 0
The footcuffed chicken get fed....
Heart 3 Comment 0
.....before going on their journey. Do they become unconscious when hanging upside down? They were definitely alive but none of them did even twitch
Heart 2 Comment 3
Steve Miller/GrampiesWhen we were raising chickens we would hold them by their legs upside down like this to get them calm and relaxed if we were moving them from one place to another. Not sure of why this is so, but it really does work.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThank you, Steve. That´s really funny, I understand sheep are the same when you put them on their back....
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Frank RoettgenYes, exactly right about the sheep. We had them also and would sit them up to work on trimming their hooves or shearing them. Amazing the things one can learn farming, or cycle touring.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Along the #2
Heart 5 Comment 0
Another village with sculpturers en masse
Heart 2 Comment 0
The buffalo soldier being attacked by a croc is said to be one of the bestsellers
Heart 2 Comment 0
I only realized the spider in its cobweb after I had taken this photo. One step further....
Heart 4 Comment 0
....and I could have told you whether it is venomous or not
Heart 5 Comment 0
The last impression of Cambodia....
Heart 4 Comment 0
...and the first one of Vietnam
Heart 3 Comment 0
Tinh Bien
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tinh Bien
Heart 0 Comment 0
The extremely helpful siblings, appropriately dressed in my favourite colour
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Vietnamese flag flown along the QLN 1
Heart 4 Comment 0
No rice shortage to be expected in Chau Doc while I am there
Heart 3 Comment 0
Approching Chau Doc
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was a bit concerned about the last few kilometers into town but those separate lanes made it a very pleasant experience. All 4-wheel motorists had to use the three lanes on the left.
Heart 2 Comment 0
View from my 3rd floor balcony
Heart 2 Comment 0
Takeo - Chau Doc
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 77 km (48 miles)
Total: 3,310 km (2,056 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0