Day 34: Siem Reap - Stoung - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

January 30, 2018

Day 34: Siem Reap - Stoung

Routing: #6

I thoroughly enjoyed not only Jan´s company over the last four days but the common rides through the Angkor Park as much. Now it is time to move on though as Siem Reap really did it to me. This place is beyond tolerability nowadays. Trafficwise that is. Such a small town can simply not cope with tourist numbers and related traffic like Paris or New York. Due to my ridiculous choice of hotel I had to diagonally cross the whole city four times a day - 16 times altogether that is. 

Therefore getting on Highway 6 towards Kampong Kdei - my anticipated destination for today - was no threat but a relief to me. And fortunately Jan was spot on saying I would very likely find it in much better condition then coming into Siem Reap. The surface is great, there is a continuous wide shoulder and it is much greener with far more villages and related activities all the way. I really liked it despite the wind still blowing stiffly into my face.

I stayed in Kampong Kdei a few years before and only picked it as my likely overnight stop as I thought 65 km might be good enough against that strong wind. I got there just after midday though and the successive Grand Sightseeing Tour of Kampong Kdei took me 4 mins 23 secs: Off the highway, down to the bridge, two photos, back onto the highway. You can do it in 4 mins 20 secs if you take only one photo. But seriously: There is no reason to stay if you don´t have to, like getting there very late in the afternoon. The two guesthouses and one homestay are certainly below average so I decided to continue as I was really enjoying being on the bike as well. 

Stoung was my new choice as it was the next town with predictable accommodation. Typical Khmer country town with at least three guesthouses. I picked the Sokimex GH right opposite the cellphone tower as they had my favoured room available: fan, corner location with two windows and fly sheets. 5 bucks by the way with a cold water shower only. Good day it was!

Breakfast before departure
Heart 0 Comment 0
All the sudden there were dozens of these stalls. All preparing and selling the same thing....
Heart 3 Comment 0
.....sticky rice with sweet beans, grilled in a bamboo shell. Yummy!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Astro turf in the middle of nowhere. No village 5 km either way
Heart 1 Comment 0
Highway 6, you beauty!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Kampong Kdei
Heart 2 Comment 0
When I stopped next to him I knew this was going to be a controversial one. Do I leave it because most of you reading this will be appalled by the idea of dogs being used as food? Or do I upload as it simply is part of life in Cambodia?
Heart 0 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesThink you made the right choice to show this photo. Yes, it is disturbing to Western sensibilities, but to a Hindu a shot of cattle being raised for meat would be equally so.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThank you for your comment, Steve. I find your Hindu comparison most appropriate. I actually had my own photo of the piglets taken a few days before on my mind. Those particular ones did look a bit distressed - very likely due to the heat - otherwise people would say: How cute! ignoring they are raised for that sole same reason.....becoming meat. Harsh words, I know, but reality at the same time.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
View from my balcony over dusty Stoung
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
mark baisiWell thats a step up from the Hello Kitty you're accustomed to. :)
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo mark baisiVery true, Mark. I knew you would feel with me....
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Me: "It´s going to rain tonight; I want the bicycle inside, please." - After a short discussion between the landlords: "We probably have some room upstairs." - I was delighted they found a corner where I could squeeze the bike in
Heart 4 Comment 0
Dried fish market in Stoung
Heart 1 Comment 0
Siem Reap - Stoung
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 102 km (63 miles)
Total: 2,822 km (1,752 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0