Day 33: Kralanh - Siem Reap - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

January 26, 2018

Day 33: Kralanh - Siem Reap

Routing: #6

Only  54 km and a challenging day - does that go together? Yes, because the wind coming up Highway 6 was that fierce, it took me almost 4 hours to get to Siem Reap. The continued monotony of the scenery, the dense and fast traffic and the rough asphalt for most of the ride certainly didn´t make it any easier. Anyways, it was all over around noon and when I got to my prebooked Daroth Angkor Boutique Hotel I have to admit I was rather disappointed. My decision to pick an accommodation 2 km southwest of the town center was a deliberate one, based on my previous visits to Siem Reap. I was keen to avoid the masses of vistors in the town that is very likely the most busy tourist hub in Cambodia. What I didn´t know was in how bad a condition that road out of town was, not to speak about the last few hundred meters to the hotel on that red dust. The property itself is brand new and well worth the money I am paying but why did I ignore the mantra of any real estate agent: Location, location, location? I guess the deal was just so good that dollars dominated common sense. At least I have my own transport so I can still enjoy my well equipped room and the nice little pool.

After checking in and a first swim I made my way over to the Two Dragons Guesthouse where Jan is going to stay. I didn´t only wish to enquire where exactly it was but wanted to find out whether I could join the driver to the airport in the evening. They were extremely welcoming and the scene for four days of cruising the Angkor Historical Park in nice company are set. The peculiar thing about meeting Jan at the airport: It´s our first ever face-to-face meeting. I have known him and his wife Gabi for several years now but only through our common activities on a site similar to this one. All the same it feels like meeting a very close friend.

Cambodia beer sems to have some particular interest in this area
Heart 2 Comment 0
Very typical for Highway 6. In regard to the scenery as well as to the traffic. If they wish to overtake they will do so. Even if they open four lines and couldn´t care less about the oncoming traffic. Me for instance....
Heart 2 Comment 0
Happy driver...
Heart 2 Comment 0
....and his less happy freight
Heart 2 Comment 0
The only chance for some shade
Heart 0 Comment 0
Much better for the last 10 km into Siem Reap. Along the canal on smooth surface with a wide shoulder
Heart 3 Comment 0
My job has been done in the morning, feet up for the ride to the airport
Heart 1 Comment 0
The formal welcome...
Heart 2 Comment 0
...and the more social one
Heart 4 Comment 0
Kralanh - Siem Reap
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 km (34 miles)
Total: 2,600 km (1,615 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0